New

Walworth County - History

Walworth County  - History


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

Walworth County

(LST-1164: dp. 2,590, 1. 384'; b. 56', dr. 17', s. 14 k.;
cpl. 160; trp. 376; a. 6 3"; cl. LST-1156)

LST-1164 was laid down on 22 September 1962 at Pascagoula, Miss., by the Ingalls Shipbuilding Corp.; launched on 15 May 1953; sponsored by Mrs. John A. Furr; and commissioned on 26 October 1953, Lt. F. Kay in command.

The new tank landing ship departed Pascagoula on 20 November 1953, bound for Norfolk, VA. She conducted shakedown in the Chesapeake Bay and became a unit of LST Division 23. The ship arrived at her home port of Little Creek, VA., on 3 December 1953. On 6 April 1954, LST-1164 departed the amphibious base for a brief stop at the Naval Reserve training center at Jacksonville, Fla. On 19 April, the ship took part in simulated atomic warfare strikes and returned to Little Creek on 25 May 1954.

She spent June participating in amphibious exercises at Vieques Island, Puerto Rico. LST-1164 returned to Little Creek on 11 July for voyage repairs in the Norfolk Naval Shipyard and towing exercises off Little Creek beach.

From 3 November 1954 through 24 March 1955, the ship participated in various exercises with the Marine Corps and the Army in the areas of Camp Pendleton, VA.; Onslow Beach, N.C.; and Vieques Island, Puerto Rico.

On 30 March, the LST entered the Philadelphia Naval Shipyard for a four month overhaul. During that period, she was named Walworth County on 1 July 1955. She returned to Little Creek on 5 August and conducted exercises in the Chesapeake Bay. The ship put to sea on 21 September for atomic attack drills along the eastern seaboard, gunnery practice in operating areas out of Jacksonville, Fla., and assault beaching runs with men of the 3d Marines and their vehicles and combat equipment on the coast of North Carolina. Walworth county returned to Little Creek on 8 November 1955 and spent the following months in local waters with trips to Guantanamo and the Caribbean.

Walworth County left Norfolk with a load of ammunition on 7 May 1956 and, two weeks later, arrived at the United States naval base at Port Lyautey, French Morocco. Two days later, she sailed for Greece and arrived at Piraeus on 30 May for operations with an amphibious task force of the 6th Fleet which took her to principal ports of the Mediterranean. Walworth County returned home to Little Creek on 26 September and spent the remainder of the year in local operating areas.

On 5 March 1957, the tank landing ship arrived at the Naval Base, Coco Solo, Canal Zone. From there, she took survey parties to beaching sites in the Chagres River and other places in preparation for Operation "Caribex" which tested the mobility of American forces in defending the Panama Canal. She returned to Little Creek from this cruise on 16 March and put to sea on 10 April to participate in a three-phase operation involving the Marine Corps, the Army, and the Air Force. The exercise—conducted on Vieques Island, Fort Lorenzo, Canal Zone, and Rio Hata—terminated on 28 April 1957, and Walworth County underwent extended upkeep in the New York Naval Shipyard from 14 May through 11 July. She returned to Little Creek the following day and began local operations which lasted until 14 November 1957. At that time, Walworth County undertook exercises with amphibious warfare forces that included practice assaults with marines on Vieques Island, Puerto Rico, and St. Thomas, Virgin Islands.

The ship returned to Little Creek on 25 March 1958 but a month later headed for Morehead City, N.C. There, she loaded marines and combat cargo in preparation for an amphibious training operation to be held in the Mediterranean with forces of the United Kingdom and Italy. She transited the Strait of Gibraltar on 14 May and visited the ports of Izmir, Turkey, Athens, Greece; and Suda Bay, Crete.

However, the operation was cancelled because of Middle East tensions, and Walworth County had the distinction of acting as a primary control ship in the initial landing of marines at Beirut, Lebanon, on 16 July. Her operations in this area continued until 1 October when she departed Beirut and sailed for the United States. She reached Morehead City on 19 October and became a unit of Amphibious Squadron 6.

From 12 December 1958 to 24 February 1959, Walt worth county underwent an overhaul in the Charleston Naval Shipyard. The ship conducted local operations and visited Guantanamo before sailing for Spain. She arrived at Rota on 30 July and commenced her third Mediterranean tour which lasted until 9 February 1960. She returned to Morehead City and spent the following months conducting practice landings at Onslow Beach, making cruises to Halifax, Nova Scotia and to Bermuda, and completing another tour of duty in the Caribbean Sea that included amphibious warfare practice in the waters of Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands.

On 28 October 1960, Walworth County sailed from Little Creek with Amphibious Squadron 6 for a fourth Mediterranean deployment. The ship gave effective support to assault practice with Marine battalion landing teams at Augusta Bay, Sicily; with Greek Raider Teams at Navplion, Greece; and with both Amphibious Squadrons 6 and 4 and two Marine battalion landing teams at Portoscuso Sardinia.

Walworth county returned to Little Creek on 19 May 1961 and underwent overhaul in the Norfolk Naval Shipyard through September 1961. She spent the remainder of the year in amphibious assault training on Onslow Beach and at Camp Pendleton where she took part in Army landing assault training.

Walworth county departed Little Creek on 17 January 1962, embarked marines at Morehead City, and headed for Guantanamo Bay to participate in Operation "Springboard 62." The ship made calls at several Caribbean ports and then disembarked the marines at Morehead City on 1 March. Four days later, she returned to Norfolk where she was placed on restricted availability status until 15 May 1962.

At that time, Walworth county embarked marines of "Foxtrot" Company, Battalion Landing Team 2/6 and, on 1 June, proceeded to tour the entire length of the Mediterranean from Alicante, Spain, to Marmaris Turkey, where she operated with combined Turkish and Greek forces. After extensive exercises, including seven amphibious training assaults on various beaches she sailed for her home port and arrived at Norfolk on 20 October 1962. The next day, she was called upon to participate in the Cuban blockade and operated in the Caribbean with the ready amphibious group until 4 December when she returned to the United States and debarked marines at Morehead City. Walworth county arrived at Norfolk the following day and spent the remainder of the year in leave and upkeep.

During the early part of 1963, Walworth County conducted local operations in the Little Creek area After entering Gibbs Shipyard, Jacksonville, Fla., on 3 April, she completed her scheduled yard period and sea trials, then headed for Little Creek on 10 June. The ship took part in amphibious refresher training through July and August, followed by a three-week period of restricted availability. During the remainder of 1963, she participated in local operations, visited Rockland, Maine, to obtain tactical data for the LST-1156-class, and underwent overhaul.

In January 1964, Walworth County got underway for Panama where she spent more than four months making 16 transits of the canal—including one round trip which she completed in less than 23 hours. Late in May, she returned to Little Creek and, after tender availability, took part in the "MEBLEX" and midshipman exercises. Following this, she made a call to New York for the World's Fair and returned to Little Creek on 11 August. While in port, Walworth county was used in the production of a Bureau of Medicine and Surgery mental health movie. In late August, LST-1164 again got underway for a lift to Guantanamo Bay, Cuba, and returned—via Miami, Fla.—on 13 September 1964.

Walworth County spent a short period in the yard before getting underway on 6 October for "Steel Pike I," the largest amphibious exercise since World War II. Besides carrying out her role in the operation, she called at Rota, Spain, and the Canary Islands before returning home on 28 November. Walworth Count
spent the Christmas and New Year holidays undergoing tender availability.

In early February 1965, LST-1164 sailed for Vieques and took liberty in the Virgin Islands and at San Juan and Ponce, Puerto Rico. She arrived back at Little Creek on 8 March and then participated in exercises to train Army personnel in amphibious warfare. Following these training exercises, the ship conducted local operations and made preparations for an upcoming deployment.

Having completed all preparations, Walworth county got underway with Amphibious Squadron (PhibRon) 6 on 24 January 1966. She proceeded to Bermuda as an escort for minesweepers when the squadron was recalled. After spending one week in Bermuda, she returned to Little Creek. On 6 March, the ship got underway for her sixth Mediterranean tour. There, she joined in a combined NATO exercise and other amphibious assault operations. On 1 July, she became a part of PhibRon 8. Walworth County returned to the United States on 2 August, underwent a period of training and upkeep, and then spent the final weeks of August on a midshipman cruise and taking on board dependents of the crew for a day at sea.

On 1 September 1966, Walworth county got underway for Guantanamo Bay with marines embarked. After a short stay, she returned to her home port where she underwent training and upkeep. On 26 September, she headed for the Boston operating area with civilian technicians and representatives from the Naval Ordnance Testing Laboratory. The ship travelled to Ft. Lauderdale, Fla., to unload testing equipment before returning to Little Creek. On 18 October, Walworth county underwent a period of tender availability. Late in November, she participated in an exercise off Vieques and put into San Juan, Puerto Rico, for repairs. On 15 December, the LST got underway for Little Creek and spent the Christmas holidays at home.

The New Year 1967, found Walworth County in the Norfolk Naval shipyard for repairs to her propellers but she returned to Little Creek on 20 March. After a short trip to New York, the ship got underway on 8 April and headed for the Caribbean to participate in the joint services exercise, "Clove Hitch III." She returned to Little Creek on 4 May and spent a month undergoing maintenance and post-repair training.

September and October were devoted to a goodwill tour off Deal Island, Maryland, and Operation "JCOC 37," an amphibious assault off Onslow Beach N.C. From 27 October to 10 November 1967, Walworth County was deployed to the Caribbean. On the ship's return to Little Creek, she began an overhaul and then prepared for an upcoming Mediterranean tour.

On 3 January 1968, Walworth County got underway for Morehead City, where she embarked marines and loaded equipment. On 6 January, she rendezvoused with five minesweepers and began the voyage across the North Atlantic for her seventh Mediterranean cruise. She reached Rota, Spain, on 3 February and began a series of "Phiblex" exercises which took her to Sardinia and Corsica. Her crew enjoyed leave at Toulon, France; La Spezia and Naples, Italy; and Rota, Spain. On 27 April 1968, Walworth County took part in Operation "Dawn Patrol" involving 40 ships of five nations. The exercises were completed on 12 May at Timbakion Crete. The ship then sailed for Rota, Spain, and steamed across the North Atlantic. Walworth county arrived at Morehead City, N.C., on 8 June 1968 and proceeded to Little Creek where she arrived the next day.

After a month of maintenance, Walworth County participated in a riverine exercise in the James River— which taught the fundamentals of river warfare and lessons learned in Vietnam—from 9 to 19 July. The ship then spent the remainder of July and most of August undergoing a tender availability.

The landing ship got underway on 23 September 1968 for a SOUTHCOM deployment as a member of LST Division 41. After a trip to the Canal Zone, she got underway on 9 October for a visit to Jamaica. Upon reaching Montego Bay, Walworth County was called back to Panama when an uprising overthrew the Panamanian government. She arrived in the Canal Zone on 14 October and, the next day, transited the canal to the Pacific. She remained at the Rodman Naval Station until 8 November 1968.

Loaded with Operation "Handclasp" material, Walworth County got underway for Equador that day and arrived at Guayaquil on 9 November 1968. She returned to Rodman on 17 November and—except for four amphibious landings and a round-trip transit of the canal —remained there until 9 January 1969.

From 1 March to 16 May, LST-1164 underwent upkeep at the Norfolk Shipbuilding and Drydock Corp. in Berkley, VA. The ship then began a period of upkeep at her home port. On 21 July, she started amphibious refresher training and then prepared for movement overseas. From 15 September through 25 November, the ship operated in the Caribbean Ready Group.

Upon her return to Little Creek, the tank landing ship began another period of leave and upkeep. Then she conducted a training exercise from 12 to 16 January 1970. On 30 January, the ship began a month of tender availability by Vulcan (AR-5) which was moored at the Norfolk Navy Base. This work lasted until 20 February when Walworth County returned to Little Creek.

Following several months of local operations, Walworth county sailed independently on 8 July 1970 for South America. Her mission was primarily one of good will. She delivered earthquake relief supplies to Peruvian ports and carried Project "Handclasp" matefial to Ecuador. For the remainder of the deployment LST-1164 carried out many and varied missions, ranging from being a home for Smithsonian scientists performing marine biology research to acting as a ferryboat for United States exhibits to a regional fair at Bocas del Toro, Panama. During her three-month deployment, Walworth County steamed over 9,000 miles, and she received a letter of commendation from Admiral C. D. Nace, Commander, United States Naval Forces, Southern Command and Commandant, 15th Naval District. After a final transit of the Panama Canal, Walworth County headed homeward, arriving back at Little Creek on 23 October 1970.

Following the post-deployment leave periods, Walworth County commenced preparations for inactivation. On 4 January 1971, operational and administrative control of the ship was shifted from Amphibious Force, United States Atlantic Fleet to the Inactive Ship Maintenance Facility, Norfolk.

After three months of work by her crew, LST-1164 was decommissioned in April 1971. The ship was subsequently towed to Orange, Tex., where she arrived on 14 April 1971. She was drydocked on 11 May for the underwater phase of inactivation with the topside phase scheduled to commence upon completion of the drydock phase.

In May of 1972, Walworth County was scheduled for transfer to the Maritime Administration and layup at Suisun Bay, Calif., but she served with the Military Sealift Command from May 1972 until stricken from the Navy list on 1 November 1973. On 19 June 1974, she was turned over to the Maritime Administration and berthed at Suisun Bay, Calif.

As of April 1979, Walworth County was still with the National Defense Reserve Fleet.


Walworth County - History


P.O. Box 159
Delavan, WI 53115

Contact WCGS: Walworth Genealogy

An Affiliate member of the
Wisconsin State Genealogical Society

Our Society succeeds through the generosity and participation of our members and through donations from others. To make a tax deductible contribution, click here: Donations
Or
Join us!
Membership Form

We were deeply saddened to hear of the loss of our member Terri DeVoy, Feb. 2, 2015. She will be missed!

We were deeply saddened to hear of the passing of one of our early members, Dorothy Hollinger,
September 3, 2017.
-->

Because of inclement weather, Tuesday, March 3rd's Meeting is Cancelled!

-->
Our Meetings are held on the 1st Tuesday of the month, at the Community Centre,
826 E. Geneva St., Delavan, WI, and are at 6:30 pm unless otherwise noted.


Special Holiday Library Dates
The WCGS library room will be closed December 24 th and 31 st , 2019


A Christmas message from your WCGS webmAsters
While attending your family gatherings, don't forget to get the latest Family Data!
(And ask Grandma and Grandpa if they have any recollections they would like to share!)

Have a Happy, Blessed, and Safe Christmas!

We often hear about the men on the lake and how they made their fortunes. But what were the women doing? As it turns out, they were not just sipping iced tea on their verandas. Meet some of the remarkable women who helped to shape the history, not only of this area, but of this country.

Christine Brookes is Co-President of our society and is a much renowned speaker in our area.

--> November 6,2018- 6:30 pm - Pre-planning your Funeral -
Andy Haase of Haase-Lockwood and Associates

Take some of the stress off of your family after your demise by pre-planning.
Don't leave all of the important decisions up to them.

Also
We will be presenting the slate for the December election.
--> December 4,2018- 5:30 pm Annual Christmas Pot Luck, Elections, & Bingo

WCGS will be providing the entree (Ham, Chicken, and Italian Beef)

Bring a side dish to share. Bring a gift ($10.00 or less) for Take-away Bingo

--> January 2019 - No Meeting - Have a Happy New Year!

--> Note date, time & location change for February's meeting!

Our February meeting has been cancelled due to the frigid weather.

Friday, February 8, 2019 11:00 am - WCGS Show and Share -


--> Note: March meeting will be back at our normal meeting place in Delavan.

--> Note: Our August meeting will be at the Community Centre in Delavan

--> July 2nd 2019, 6:30 pm - An Evening with FDR

Presented by Ed O'Brien
Ed will be presenting a historical impression of FDR and his life. Come and hear from our longest serving president.


--> August 1 2019- 6:30 pm - Our Annual Ice Cream Social

Bring your own toppings to share, We provide the Ice Cream!
See some of our costumed reenactors from past Cemetery tours!

--> September 3 2019- 5:30 pm - Our 31st Annual Dinner! -
This year we will be back at
Foley's Irish Woods, West 3905 Highway 50, Lake Geneva
Our after dinner speaker will be Merilee Lee, director of Hoard Museum in Fort Atkinson
who will tell us about their large Civil War collection

-Click HERE to sign up.


--> January 2020 - No Meeting - Have a Happy New Year! --> Note: Our February and March meetings will be held
in our library room in the Matheson Memorial Library
--> Note: Due to the COVID-19 situation, our library room will not be staffed and our meetings are cancelled until further notice. Hopefully our staff will be available to help you in the near future whenever the current situation changes. We will keep you informed.
February 4 th 2020- 1:30 pm -Annual Show & Share
Bring your latest discoveries! -->
October 1 2019- 6:30 pm - Beginning Genealogy with Karen Weston

Karen will present an overall gameplan for starting your family search. She will show available websites for researching in depth for your ancestral routes and how to use these sources.

--> November 5 2019- 6:30 pm - Norwegian Program &emsp&emsp&emsp&emsp&emsp&emsp&emsp
Corlene Bartels will present a program of 150 letters between two
half-brothers, Lars and Knut Stavig, about the immigrant experiences
of coming to a new country. Lars came to the United States
while his half-brother, Knut, remained in Norway.

December 3 2019- 5:30 pm - Annual Christmas Pot Luck, Elections, & Bingo
WCGS will be providing the entree.
Bring a side dish to share. Bring a gift ($10.00 or less) for Take-away Bingo


--> April 2nd 2019, 6:30 pm - Why Do We Call It That?

Presented by Michael Rehberg


From Duck Lake to Lake Como and Bigfoot Lake to Geneva Lake, this program explains how and why key places in our local area got their names. Learn the answers to questions like: Who was Edward C. Delavan, Lewis F. Linn, Rueben J. Walworth? Where was the town called Hudson? What happened to West Troy? And more.
--> June 4th 2019, 6:30 pm - Weddings of the past

Presented by Karen Weston, President of WCGS


Since June is such a busy month for weddings, we thought learning more about wedding rituals from the past would be a good theme for our June meeting! Karen will be presenting a short powerpoint presentation of the experiences of our ancestors and their weddings. Please feel free to bring and share antique wedding dresses and bridegroom finery and/or accessories, or perhaps, the oldest wedding photo in your collection. You will be encouraged to share brief information about the couple depicted, and how they fit into your family. Start searching through those old photo albums and boxes of photos!--> March 3 rd 2020, 1:30 pm - Research afternoon at the Matheson Memorial Library in the Mary Bray room.
Check out the new acquisitions and get help with computer research.

--> March 1st 2016- 1:30 pm -

--> April 5th 2016- 6:30 pm -
--> May 3rd 2016- 6:30 pm -
--> June 7 th 2016- 6:30 pm -
--> August 2 nd 6:30 pm -
Ice Cream Social - bring your own toppings to share
You can play Genealogy Jeopardy with Karen Weston!
--> April 4 2017- 6:30 pm - Treasures of the WCGS Library- with Speakers: WCGS Library Committee: Diana Bird, Judy Rockwell and Marilyn Traver
We will meet in the Mary Bray Room Of Matheson Memorial Library, to discover the newly-reorganized resources available for state, national and international genealogical research!

--> Note - The May meeting will be held in conjunction with Matheson Memorial Library in the Community Room at Matheson Memorial Library in Elkhorn!

May 2 2017- 6:30 pm - DNA Basics & Understanding Your Ancestry DNA Results &emsp&emsp&emsp&emsp&emsp&emsp
Speaker: Mary Eberle, owner of DNA Hunters, LLC, and member of the Association of Professional Genealogists and an experienced genetic genealogist. Her presentation includes an overview on using DNA for
family research: the types of DNA, the best companies to use, which relatives to test, and how to
interpret your DNA test results. Mary will emphasize interpreting results from Ancestry DNA.

--> Note - The July meeting will be held in Whitewater on Saturday July 8th. To arrange for carpool/ride share, call and leave a message on our society phone 262-723-9150.

Saturday July 8 2017- 12:00 Noon - Whitewater Hillside Cemetery planning - with Karen Weston
We will be working to create a cemetery booklet for the UW-Whitewater
sesquicentennial cemetery walk in 2018.
Meet at the front gate on
South Wisconsin Street

August 1 2017- 6:30 pm - At Delavan! Our Annual Ice Cream Social -
Bring your own toppings to share, We provide the Ice Cream! Some fun and games!

Note - Time change We will meet at 5:50 for our Annual dinner!

.--> Special WCGS Holiday Library Staffing Hours:

Our Library room will not be staffed until Jan. 9, 2018 when normal staffing hours will resume.

--> Have a Safe and Happy New Year!! --> If a meeting must be cancelled due to inclement weather, we will announce it here. So check this spot by 12:00 pm for cancellation notice or call 262-723-9150.

--> February 6 2018- 11:00 am -Annual Show & Share: Bring a bag lunch!
We begin our year with a field trip to the Geneva Lake Museum,
where we will tour the museum after our meeting and lunch.
To see more click here!

--> Note location change for March's meeting!

--> March 6, 2018- 1:30 pm - Treasures of the WCGS Library-
with Speakers: WCGS Library Committee: Judy Rockwell, Diana Bird and Marilyn Traver
We will meet in the Mary Bray Room Of Matheson Memorial Library,
where will see the completely-reorganized resources available for world-wide genealogical research!

--> Note: Time and location change for our June meeting!

--> (Being held in conjunction with Matheson Memorial Library
at the Community Room at Matheson Library in Elkhorn! )


David A Stumpf, MD, PhD, will give us a presentation and set the stage for options you may wish to pursue.
DNA has three principal roles in genealogy: &emsp
&emsp&ensp • validating conclusions from historical records, &emsp
• connecting with other researchers in your family with new factual information,
&emsp&ensp • breaking through brick walls. &emsp

--> July 3rd, 2018 - No Meeting - Enjoy Independence Day!


August 7th, 2018 - 6:30 pm - Ice Cream Social

Our annual Ice Cream Social - WCGS supplies the Ice Cream, and you bring your favorite
toppings to share, then, once again, we will play Genealogy Jeopardy with Karen Weston!

--> October 3,2017- 6:30 pm - Vice President Karen Weston presents American Indians History,
also selection of the Election Committee for our upcoming Election in December. We will
choose the candidates for 2 Board Member positions this year. -->

--> Visit our staffed library room any Tuesday from 10:00 until 3:00, (until 7:00 on the third Tuesday)
in the Mary Bray room at the Matheson Memorial Library in Elkhorn.

We are also open the third Saturday every month from 10:00 am til 2:00 pm

New - We now have telephone service!
(262) 723-9150


Mission Statement
The Walworth County Genealogical Society was organized for the purpose of bringing together family researchers who can network together and promote preservation of heirlooms and documents. Our goal is to help others find their ancestors, to educate them about genealogy, to copy cemetery data in the area and to stimulate interest in our county and genealogy.


Click here To see our 2014 cemetery walk.


Town 1, north, range 15 east, was set off from older Delavan, March 21, 1843, and was named for the town of Sharon in Schoharie county, New York. Bordered by Clinton, Rock County and on south by Chemung and Leroy, in Illinois.

John READER came in 1836 and broke ground. Other early comers were: AUCHAMPAUGH, BELL, BEST, BILLINGS, BLAKE, CASE, CONDER, KIRBY, LANGDON, MASON, McCONDEY, REYNOLD, SOUTHARD, TOPPING, VAN NOSTRAND, VAN WINTER,and VAN WORMER.

South Grove at section 17 and 20 had a store and post office in 1845. A church was built and cemetery was laid out.

Allens Grove was first visited in 1844 by Pliny and Sidney ALLEN. The village was platted in 1852. An academy was built in 1856. By 1884, it was almost a deserted village with only a post office and store.

There was a Congregational church in 1845 and a church built in 1852. A small group of Methodists organized in 1858.

From History of Walworth County Wisconsin, Vol. 1, by Albert Clayton Beckwith, publ. 1912.

Very Rev. Martin KUNDIG established St. Catherine's mission in 1846. Its services were supplied for more than sixty years by priests of other parishes - notably for twenty years or more from the church at Elkhorn. A chapel was built in 1896, and a church in 1910. Father HERMES came as resident priest, for a few weeks in 1910, and after him Rev. Thomas PIERCE in 1911.

Nineteen members constituted the Congregational society in 1868, and a church was built in that year. Rev. James G. SCHAEFER, with a few others of the Lutheran church, were among the organizers of this society. The pastors, as nearly as known, have been Isaac BARKER, 1870 Albert A. YOUNG, 1871 Albert M. CASE, 1875 Thomas A. WADSWORTH, 1878 Luther CLAPP, 1879 John Mitchell STRONG, 1882 John HARRIS, 1884 Arthur McCalla THOME, 1885 John SCHOLFIELD, 1887 John SABIN, 1890 Daniel R. GROVER, 1891 William MILLARD, 1893 Frederick M. HUBBELL, 1895 Carl D. THOMPSON, 1896 Thomas KENT, 1900 Robert J. LOCKE, 1902 H. Samuel FRITSCH, 1904. The society became too weak in number to continue long after 1904, and in 1911 their building was sold for conversion to other use.

Rev. George F. BRIGHAM, then a layman, assembled a little group of Episcopalians and acted as their reader. The first full service was in 1868 by Rev. William E. WRIGHT, then of Janesville. Before building their chapel, in 1879-80, the members met at a dance hall, at the railway station, at which Mr. BRIGHAM was for many years agent, and at the Lutheran church. Mr. BRIGHAM received deacon's orders June 11, 1876, and May 27, 1902, he was fully ordained as a priest, and is still in the service of the church, though full of years. From the beginning he has kept a minute account of parish affairs, and his well-stored memory preserves some unwritten record of many other things that might otherwise be lost to such as find interest in the men and events of nearly a half century. He was born in 1830, and might be regarded as fairly as Sharon's "grand old man."

A number of residents of the town met at Martin VAN ALSTYNE's house September 27, 1845, to organize the First Evangelic Lutheran church of Sharon. Its name was chosen, its synodical connection fixed upon, and officers elected. Its first yearly meeting was held at the same place, September 28, 1846, Rev. Marcus W. EMPIE presiding. He read his commission from the Lutheran board of missions of the Franckean synod, and was received as pastor. At a special meeting, October 9, 1849, it was resolved to build a chapel which should be opened freely for the use of other orthodox denominations. It was further determined to accept Mr. VAN ALSTYNE's gift of two acres of land and to build thereon at the line between sections 34 and 35, about eighty-five rods from the state line and a little more than one and one-half miles from the present village. The chapel was ready for its use in 1850. Between 1856 and 1861 it was moved to the village and remodeled, and has since been kept in excellent repair. Before 1866 its service was not continuous. Its pastors have been Mr. EMPIE, 1845-1852 Rufus SMITH, Jr., 1856-1861 Henry L. DOX, 1863. Continuity began with James G. SCHAEFER, 1866 Leander FORD, 1868 Mr. HAMMOND, 1875 Dr. David Harold SNOWDEN, 1878 Jacob W. THOMAS, 1881 J. H. WEBER, 1887 I. J. DELO, 1889 Luther L. LIPE, 1891 Leander FORD (again), 1897 William J. SPIRE, 1902 Thomas B. HERSCH, 1904 William F. BARNETT, 1906-1912. This is an English-speaking congregation.

A German-speaking Evangelic Lutheran society was formed about 1897, and its church was built in 1903. Its pastor list and dates of service are but partly known: H. R. ROEHR, Mr. SCHERT, Gerhardt F. KUEHNERT, Thomas B. HERSCH, 1905 Herman A. STEEGE, 1906 George F. HACK, 1907 Theodore BERGEN, now in charge. Each of these churches has its comfortable parsonage.

A Methodist Episcopal society was constituted in 1843 at South Grove and was for some time supplied by circuit riders. In 1856 it built a church at Sharon village and has since improved it and provided a good parsonage. Its clergy list begins with Hiram H. HERSEY about 1856, after whom Thomas WHITE, 1857 Stephen SMITH, 1860 Andrew J. MEAD, 1861 William Page STOWE, 1863 Daniel C. ADAMS, 1865 A. C. MANWELL, 1866 Clark SKINNER, 1868 William H. SAMPSON, 1869 Norvall J. APLIN, 1871 J. C. ROBBINS, 1873 Daniel Brown, 1874 A. J. BRILL, 1875 A. A. REED, 1877 Samuel C. THOMAS, 1879 Samuel REYNOLDS, 1880 Charles B. WILCOX, 1881 Andrew J. BENJAMIN, 1883 Joseph ANDERSON, 1884 Frank A. PEASE, 1885 Stephen A. OLIN, 1888 Payson W. PETERSON, 1891 William A. PETERSON, 1893 Elvardo C. POTTER, 1896 Sabin HALSEY, 1898 William CLARK, 1899 J. Thomas MURRISH, 1902 Andrew PORTER, 1903 George W. WHITE, 1906-12. It may be seen that a few of these performed duty at Allen Grove.

Favorite Links for Sharon township

1890 Sharon Twp., Walworth Co., Illinois veteran census
Information provided byMartin W. Johnson

Cemetery Name Location Cemetery Active
Allen's Grove/Mt Phillips Sec 31 borders Darien township and Rock Co yes
Burr Oak Sharon burials, across stateline in IL yes?
North Sharon 5 mi N of town on Cty C and Lake Shore Rd Sec 9 yes
Oakwood on Cemetery Road one mile north of Sharon and block west in Sec 21 yes
Old cemetery in village removed to Oakwood no
St Catherines 2 mi W Cty P (Rock Co) yes
South Grove Salt Box Rd S of Co B Sec 20 no

Township Map circa 1900

Township Map circa 1907

Township Map circa 1923


History

In the early 1800s, Colonel Samuel Phoenix, who spotted a rack of elk antlers caught in a tree, proclaimed the area as “Elk Horn”. The area’s pristine beauty and fertile soils drew the attention of Daniel Bradley, his brother Milo, and LeGrand Rockwell in their quest to create a village. By 1846 when the first town meeting was held, Elkhorn boasted a population of 539.

Located at the center of Walworth County, Elkhorn was designated as the County seat in 1846. As the County seat, Elkhorn serves as the host community for governance and justice, financial and service organizations, and facilities and events. A beautiful park surrounds the County Government Center, a focal point for the Elkhorn downtown. It is where families gathered to say goodbye to their soldiers during World War II. Later the park became the setting for unique Christmas decorations, which resulted in being known as the “Christmas Card Town.”

“The Christmas Card Town” reputation is recognized every year through a series of oil paintings created by resident artist Jan Castle Reed depicting the City’s historical landmarks. The “Christmas Card Town” began with a series of the watercolor paintings done in the 1950s by Cecil Johnson for Ford Motor Company, which were later used for Christmas Cards. The tradition continues through the artistic talents of Jan Castle Reed and the sponsorship of the Elkhorn Area Chamber of Commerce.

In 1851, it became the home of the Walworth County Fair, deemed as one of the best county fairs in the nation. Today, the event draws over 100,000 visitors to the City. For more information on the County Fair or other activities on the fair grounds, contact the Walworth County Agricultural Society.

Elkhorn’s motto, “Living in Harmony” reflects its traditional “hometown” values and the community’s musical background from source band instrument manufacturers and repair, historical significance of composer Joseph Philbrick Webster of Civil War days and the Elkhorn-Holton Band.


Town History

In the spring of 1837, John Bruce, Jr., of New York State, purchased all of Section 27 that is the present site of the Village of Darien. He built a log house that was also used as a hotel, where the Methodist Parsonage now stands.

A settlement sprang up called “Bruceville” and kept the name until 1840, when it was renamed Darien, after Darien, New York, the previous home of several families of influence in the community.

He immediately set aside a strip of land consisting of three acres in perpetuity to be known as The Commons. This was a place for soldiers to drill and later became known as Bruce Park. The trail next to The Commons was an Indian trail that later became a territorial road. This was used as a military road connecting Fort Dearborn (Chicago), and Fort Madison and Portage.

In 1838 an act of the Wisconsin Territorial Legislature created the Town of Delavan, consisting of four towns of which Darien was one. By an act of the Legislature, in 1840, Darien was detached and formed into a separate town. The Village of Darien separated from the town in 1951when it was incorporated.

John Bruce was the first postmaster when the post office was established in 1839. The first town meeting was held in the Bruce home in 1842. In 1845 he was made chairman of the Board of County Supervisors. The Commons continued to be the center of the village until the railroad came through in 1856. At this time the businesses moved from around The Commons to Wisconsin Street and the village was called, for a time, “New Darien”. Bruce built a large grain warehouse in 1857 with a capacity of 5,000 bushels. At the same time he was part owner of a general store.

The telegraph arrived in 1861.

The first regular school building in the village known as District No. 7 was erected at 124 S. Walworth Street. In 1858 a two story brick building was erected, with an addition added in 1869. This was used as the Darien Public School until 1903, when a new grade and high school building was built directly across the street.

(To learn more about the history of the Town of Darien there is a notebook with more articles and pictures located at the Town Hall).


Walworth County - History


History of
Walworth County, Wisconsin

"History of Walworth County Wisconsin "
by Albert Clayton Beckwith, publ. 1912.

Mayhew
Source: History of Walworth County, Wisconsin By Albert Clayton Beckwith Illustrated, Volume 1 chapter 36 (1912)
Transcribed by: Judy Ziesmer

Mayhew, in section 33, less than four miles from Troy Center, began in 1871 with John Matheson’s warehouse, store, lumber sheds and blacksmith shop, and was at once made a station and a post office, the latter now discontinued. Mr. Matheson was one of the most energetic business men in his quarter of the county, and he saw no reason why the grain and lumber trade might not be made profitable to himself and locally convenient. He passed thence to East Troy and finally to Elkhorn. Wherever he went he drew to himself active and profitable trade. Excepting the station, which was named from Jesse Mayhew, on whose land it was built, the buildings, all of which were Matheson’s are unoccupied.

Town Of Richmond.
Chapter XXXII transcribed by Cathy Danielson

Town 3 north, range 15 east, was at first included in largest Elkhorn. At an extra session of the territorial Legislature by an act dated August 18, 1840, this town was made a part of Whitewater. Five months later, January 12, 1841, it was set off as the town of Richmond. Among the first-comers to the town were Thomas and T. Perry James and Robert Sherman, from Richmond, Washington county, Rhode Island, and their influence, just then, was sufficient to place another Richmond in the field of American geography.

Glacial action left the town of uneven surface, but not more so than other towns. The high ground of eastern Whitewater is continued through northeastern Richmond and thence irregularly southeastward to the state line in Bloomfield but it nowhere becomes hills. A large part of Rock Prairie, its elevation eight hundred and ninety-four feet above sea-level, lies in the southwestern part of the town. Turtle lake, its greatest length about one mile and average width about one-third of a mile, lies at the meeting of sections 11, 12, 13, 14. There are small glacial lakes, or large pot-holes, one each in sections 4, 9, 10. Turtle creek, the only noticeable stream in the town, flows from its lake southwardly with double curvature to Delavan, where it turns west ward and with another sigmoid flexure crosses Darien and thence to the Rock. In its course through Richmond it crosses sections 14, 23, 26, 35. 36. It is bordered by a large marsh, now about to be reclaimed.

There was an incipient village, with postoffice, at the southwest corner of Whitewater, where a town-line road meets a county-line road. It was named Uttier's Corner, and its church was and is on the Richmond side of the two highways. There is a church, a well-kept cemetery, a store, and a postoffice—named Richmond, at a meeting of roads in section 17—but as yet no village there. Not a mile of railway, either steam or electric, touches the town, but the roads to Delavan and Whitewater are excellent, and Richmond trade is of appreciable value to both of those cities,—and by delivery routes from each it receives mail.

There arc eight school districts, one jointly with Sugar Creek and one with Whitewater. The Interests of public education here as in the other towns have been influenced and directed by men and women who know well the true foundation of an American community. .Manual work, business, and religious organization are indispensable but the American child receives its first and lasting impulse toward fellow-citizenship in the school room and on the school play ground.

Morris F. Hawes left Michigan in 1837 and coming by way of Chicago and the valley of Rock River reached section 1, August 1st, and thus began the civilization of Richmond. He also bought in section 3. In the same year Perkins S. Childs came to section 17, Thomas James to section 34, Andrew and Arthur Stewart to section 33. The next year brought Joseph Compton and Charles Hamilton to section 5, George E. James to section 33, T. Perry James to section 34, Ira Sanborn (1805-) and Cyrenus Wilcox to section 5, and John Teetshorn to section 6.

William Campbell. Joseph and James Gorham Humphrey, Isaac and Stephen Keech, Simeon W. Newbury, Joseph Prentice, and Anderson Whiting came in 1839, settling on sections 5, 6, 7, 18.

In 1840 and thereafter among the advance guard were Gilbert S. Ableman, John Almy (1791), Varnum Arnold, John Arvedson (1798-), John Balfour, Albert Barton, Elijah Belding, Harrison Bishop (in 1844), Silas Bishop, John Allison Bowen, Joseph and William Bowman, Andrew and Richard Bradt, James Cameron (1803-1879), William Carpenter, David A. Christie, John Clague (1802-1886), Charles Claxton, Robert M. Cockrell, David and James Compton, Asa Congdon (died 1850). Warren Congdon,
James Connelly (1817-), James Cotter, Daniel Cross (1794-1878) and wife Mercy, Christopher J. Dockstader, Freeman Emerson, Morris Ensign, Solomon Finch (1809-1882), Jones Gage (1789-1868), Emery and Irving Gage, Jared Hall (1813-), Joseph Hall (1802-1878), William Hatton, Henry C. Hemenway, Henry Hess (1817-), Lewis J. Higby, Seth Hill (1781-1858), Kinner Hollister, Elisha Hulce, Jasper and Norman Humphrey, Fenton and William Hurd, Joseph E. Irish, Amos Ives (1823-1896), Horace James, Alvah B. and Peter Johnson, Lyman Jones, Horace B. Kinne, John Langle (1818-1865), John Langworthy, John Lester, five Loomers, Abram G. Low (1818-), Henry McCart (died 1847), James McKay, Thomas M. Martin, James Matthews, Andrew Mills, Edward Mitchell (1809-1890), James Moffatt, Ambrose Robert (1810-1869), and Sylvester Moore, Charles J. and John C. Morgan, Elisha Newell, George Osborne, Joshua Parish, William Patterson (1806-1875), George W. Lemuel and Zebulon Paul, John and Richard Pemberton, Oliver Perkins (1800-), Harvey Prentiss ( 1821-), Benjamin, John and
Nathan Rand, Edwin M. Rice, James Robinson (1814-), Alexander Rowley, James Sanford, George, Joseph, Oliver H. and Peter Smith, Henry Grover Smith (1810), Nathaniel C. Smith (1796-1878), Isaac Spicer, Samuel Stewart., Rial H. Thomas, Russell Thurber. Jr., Silas J. Weaver, Alden Daniel Tennev, Joseph R. and William Wilkins—four brothers, or, father and three sons.

Elijah Belding, also named among settlers of Darien, married, April 18, 1839, Mary, daughter of Thomas James and Dorcas Perry.

Perkins Silver Childs (1811-1848) left widow Lydia A. (1818-1874).

David Christie (1812-1893) married Jane Stewart (1822-1896).

Joseph Compton (1808-1895) married Lucina (1806-1868), a sister of Kinner Hollister.

Charles Claxton (1817-1902), son of John Claxton and Mary Turner, married in 1837 at London, Mary Ann (1813-1884), daughter of Benjamin and Martha Quinton. They came in 1845 to section 9. He left a widow named Laura A. He had two daughters: Mary Ann, wife of Robert Knilans, and Martha M., wife of Josephus Borst.

Warren Congdon (1820-) came from Rhode Island to section 26. He married, August 20, 1845, Mary Ann Kenyon. In i860 they were of Delavan village.

Christopher J. Dockstader (1810-1901) married Eliza Ann Nelson (1814-).

Lewis John Higby was in 1837 for a short time a partner with the Rockwells in the settlement of Elkhorn. He bought land in section 5, Richmond, but he may never have left Milwaukee.

Kinner Hollister (1783-1850) was son of Isaac Hollister and Catharine Newcomb. In 1805 he married Mary, daughter of Lemuel Winchell. Two sons, Cyrenus Newcomb and Lemuel, came to Darien.

James Gorham Humphrey (1806-1869) married Adeline Barber. He was grandson of Ebenezer Humphrey and Lucy Robbins, and son of Joseph (1782-1864) and wife Hannah Enos. Joseph died at Whitewater.

Alvah Beecher Johnson and Lyman Jones were settlers in Darien.

Benjamin, Jonathan and Stephen, with Samuel Loomer of Lagrange, were brothers. Joseph Henry Loomer was son of Benjamin and Eunice. Leonard Loomer married his uncle Jonathan's daughter Asenath. He was a son of Stephen. All these were born in Nova Scotia, and came early to Wisconsin.

John Rand (1819-1898) was son of Benjamin and Sarah. He married Sarah S., daughter of Benjamin and Eunice Loomer.

Isaac Spicer (1815-1888) married, August 3, 1846, Mary Alice, daughter of Samuel Loomer.

Rial H. Thomas (1821-1904) married Mary (1823-1898), daughter of Josiah Jackson and Anna Case. He afterward bought a farm in section 8, Sugar Creek, near Millard.

Silas J. Weaver (1807-1864) and wife Sarah Jackson (1809-1865) came to section 24. He left sons, themselves now old citizens.

The Nova Scotian settlers in the northwestern quarter of the county formed a somewhat noteworthy group. They were all of New England origin, and all born in or near Cornwallis. They chose good farms and made them profitable they were very much intermarried and their other alliances have related them widely and their sons and grandsons were not wanting in time of war. Their best known family names are Bigelow, Ells, Loomer, Newcomb, Rand and Weaver. The late Simon Newcomb, one of the most eminent of modern astronomers, was of Nova Scotian birth, and must have had kindred of some not remote degree of cousinship in the county.

In 1755 about seven thousand French inhabitants about the basin of Minas, near the head of the bay of Fundy, were deported and their homes made public domain. In 1760 and for a few years thereafter men and families to the number of about three thousand six hundred left Connecticut and eastern Long Island to make the depeopled province an English-speaking and Protestant colony and thus Grand Pre and its neighborhood became Cornwallis, Horton, and Aylesford, in the county of Kings. The land-hungry grandchildren of these pioneers began within fifty years their westward movement, by way of New Brunswick and New England, and their trail now long ago reached the Pacific coast, where it turned northward and southward, toward Alaska and Mexican California. Evangeline Land never, as far as known, became the home of the Tory exiles of the closing years of the American Revolution, many of whom went without their families to Halifax or its vicinity and some of whom returned twenty or more years later.

A Methodist society was formed at Utter's Corner in 1852, of which little is now known. Another society was formed at Richmond centre about 1854. Its church was built in 1872. About that time, or earlier, its pastor was Ira S. Eldredge, after whom, with some omissions, perhaps, were Charles E. Goldthorp in 1875 Thomas Potter, 1878 David O. Sanborn, 1883 William Thomas Millar, 1884: Robert Davidson, 1890 Thomas H. Garvin, 1891 Alfred Pomfret, 1892 John Carson Lang, 1895 William Dawson, 1898
Isaac Johnson, 1899 John Milton Judy, 1901, It is not unlikely that the pastors at Heart Prairie supplied some of the vacancies.

Richmond contains 22,538 acres of land, valued at $1,339,600. Average value, $59.43 per acre. The crop acreage for 1910 was: Barley, 2,999 corn 3,399 hay, 2,770 oats, 1,669 orchard, 57 potatoes, 76 rye, 25 timber, 2,424 wheat, 59. Of live stock were 2,273, cattle, $59,100 1,300 hogs, $13,000 463 horses, $35,900 390 sheep, $1,200.

At the several federal censuses the population of the town was: 1850, 744 1860, 1,016 1870, 1,017 1880, 882 1890, 799 1900, 770 1910, 685. There is a noticeable Richmond element in the population of the city of Delavan, as well as in the western states.

There are six school districts wholly within the town, a joint district with Sugar Creek, and one with Whitewater.

The first election was held April 5, 1842, at the house of Perkins Silver Childs, which then did duty as a tavern, and town officers were chosen.

Town Of Sharon
Source: History of Walworth County, Wisconsin, by Albert Clayton Beckwith, Illustrated, Volume 1 (1912) Transcribed by Jackie McCarty

Town 1 north, range 15 east, was set off from older Delavan, March 21, 1843, and was named from the town of Sharon in Schoharie county, New York. Next westward is Clinton, Rock county, and southward are Chemung and Leroy, in Illinois. As a whole the town is one of the highest above sea-level in the county, but with noticeable difference between highest and lowest ground. Small branches of Turtle creek drain the northern and western sides of the town, and the Piskasaw comes into section 24 from Walworth, runs across sections 25 and 36 to find its way across McHenry and Boone counties to the Rock. Two small mill-powers were once afforded by the south branch of the Turtle, in sections 6 and 7. Generally, the town compares favorably with the finest towns of the county as to the fertility of its soil. Its timber supply, mostly burr oak, was never great, though locally useful.

The land area of Sharon is 22.498 acres. Crop acreages for 1910 were:
Barley, 2,679 beets, 20 corn, 4,561 hay, 3,384 oats, 2,281 orchard, 70 potatoes, 116 rye, 58 timber, 962 wheat, 71. Returns and value of live stock: 3,560 cattle, $89,000 1,555 hogs, $16,800 942 horses, $65,900 2 mules, $200 500 sheep, $1,500. Value of land with improvements $2,108,600 or $93.72 per acre of village property $720,200.

Population of the town, at the several federal enumeration:
1850, 1,169 1860 1,681 1870, 1,865 1880, 1,956 1890, 1,160 1900, 1,127 1910, 1,050.

John Reader came late in 1836 to section 27 and broke ground in the spring of 1837. In the fall he brought his wife and child from the east, but settled on section 18 of Walworth. Other early comers were Myron Auchampaugh to section 10: James E. Bell, 31 David J. Best 17 John Billings, 9 Dearborn Blake, 28 Henry A. and Isaac R. Case 14 Augustus Conder, 26 John Kirby, 33 Gideon Langdon, 13 Darius B. Mason, 13 James McConkey , 1 E.C.L. Reynolds, 36 Alan Alonzo Southard, 33 John II. Topping, 2: Wm.D.Van Nostrand, 33 Michael Van Winter,17 William Van Wormer, 31.

Buyers at the land office were Pliny Allen, sections 6,31 William P. Allen,30 John Auchampaugh, 9 James Barnes,32 Valentine Bassert, 27 Ralph Bentley, 35 Harvey Birchard, 27 James Boorman, 12,13 Philander Brainard,30: Joseph Carey, 6,22 William Case, 12,14 Cyrus Chapman, 31 George and Philip Clapper, 7,18 George Cline, 15 Stephen A. Corey, 19 James Cox, 8 Henry Amirous Darrow, 5 Ira Davis, 32 Edmund Daws, 1,12 Peter Daws, 1 Henry Dennis, 31 Gilbert L. Douglass, 43 Charles G. Everts, 9 Cyrus Farnsworth, 4 Thomas Featherstone, 24 Walter Flansburg, 13 David D.W. France, 8,9 John France, 29 Isaac Freer, 34 Aaron Gile, 30 Elijah Gile, 20 Andrew J. Hanna, 3 Fulton Harvey, 36 John Brooks Hastings, 4 Henry S. Hawver, 35 James Herron. Jr, 29 Manning R. Hoard, 26 Erastus Park Jones, 3 Peter Kolb, 15 William Kitely, 9 David W. Larking, 20 Zebulon Taylor Lee, 28 Hugh Long, 3,14 Elisha McCollister, 32 John Malley, 24 Albin Matteson, 24 John J. Mereness, 3 Philip Merrill, 19 Theron Miner, 5.6.7 Robert Kennedy Morris, 26,27,18 Martin O'Connor, 6 Lemuel Ormsby,8 Eli and William Pramer, 19 David Colwell Reed, 36 Alvah Salisbury, 36 Dewitt C. Seaver, 9 Lyman H Seaver,28 Luther Schult, 36 Horace G. Smith,36 Jedidiah Smith, 19 Nelson Story,25 James W. Suidter, 27 Luke Taylor,3 George Treat, 36 Gardner Udell, 36 Martin Van Alstyne,34, 35 John V. Walker, 10 Norman Spencer Way, 5 Lewis Weeks, 23 John and Michael Weiss, 27 William H. Wells, 11 Cyrus L. Wilcox, 34 David Wilcox,23, 30 John Williams, 28 Marvin Wilson, 24 George Winter, 17 Robert Young, 13 Adam Zimpaugh, 11.

Pliny Allen (1788-1868) one of five brothers who founded Allen Grove, was not nearer than cousin, if related at all, to William P. Allen, who was son of John Allen, of Jefferson county, New York.

James Earle Bell married Esther Van Ostrom, January 8,1843.

James Cox married, December 11, 1858, Minerva, daughter of Alfred Viles and Thankful Norton.

Ira Davis (1805-1893) married Elizabeth A. Stevens (1820-1896).

Henry Dennis (1813-1897) married Margaret Smith (1820-1898).

Cyrus Farnsworth (1807-1895) was burned in his son's, Joseph M. Farnsworth's house in Darien.

Thomas Featherstone (1816-1863) married Catherine Pramer, November 3, 1844, and lived in Walworth, where he died.

Walter P. Flansburg (1816-1887) had wife Catharine (1819-1896).

William France (1808-1882) came in 1843 to South Grove with his wife, Elizabeth Kent.

James Herron (1792-1876) married Hannah Whitney (1791-1874). Both were of Washington county, New York.

Manning R. Hoard (1818-1897), son of Manning and Prudentia, came from Allegany county, New York, in 1843 with David E, his brother. Manning R married, November 30, 1845, Lydia Ann (1826-1898), daughter of Philip Burton and Nancy Quackenbush.
Peter Kolb (1809-1857) married Margaret (1822-1897), daughter of Friederich and Marie Baner.

Albin Matteson (born 1813) married, first, Philena Stockwell second, on Christmas day, 1845. Sarah, widow of Warren Matteson.

John Reader (1803-1878) came in 1824 to the States from Headcorn, Kent, England, with his wife Elizabeth Featherstone (1803-1868) late in 1836 to section 27. Sharon: a year later to section 18, Walworth in 1864 to Delavan. He was a member of the Baptist society of Walworth and was known by his title of deacon.

James W. Suidter (1824-1872) was born at Middlebrook, New Jersey. His parents, Franz Xavier (1783-1867) and Antoinette (1785-1866), were born in Bavaria. His wife was Teresa Conder (1827-1911).

George Treat (1818-1882) was son of Oren Treat and Nancy Thompson. His older ancestors were Thomas(6), Timothy (5), Richard(4), Thomas(3), Richard(2)(1). He married Sarah C., daughter of Thomas and Lucinda Foster. His brothers, Julius Allen and Thomas Nelson, and their cousin, Dr. Charles Ralph Treat, were also long of Sharon and , excepting T. Nelson , were buried there.

Martin Van Alstyne (1809-1884) and Rebecca Kline (1811-1879) were apparently among the last who were buried at the old cemetery, within the village.

Michael Weiss died August 12, 1880 George Winters, September 7, 1881 Adam Zimpaugh, May 27, 1867.

Michael Van Winters began business at Sharon Corners, in sections 13, 14. J. Jones built a tavern, and in 1843 Isaac Case became postmaster. The office was afterward named Elton, and was at last merged in the rural delivery system--- its mail supplied from Sharon.

South Grove, too, at sections 17,20, for a time aimed at commercial supremacy, without definite limit to its ambition. David J. Best built a store and began service as postmaster in 1845. A church was built and a cemetery was laid out. When the line of railway from Chicago was determined through sections 34,33,32,29,30 the growth of these rival cities was checked by the foundation of a new village at the station in section 33.

VILLAGE OF SHARON

Alan A. Southard and William D. Van Nostrand came to the center of section 33 as early as 1842, but not to found a city. In 1855 the Chicago & Northwestern Railway Company's surveyors laid its line from Harvard to Janesville through this section, and fixed the locus of its station seventy-one miles from Chicago. Robert Campbell, a man of Oshkosh, bought forty acres and platted the village. The rails were laid to Janesville in 1856. In the same year George Milmine built a store and in 1857 Seymour Rice built a hotel. In 1858 a postoffice was established with John Hodgson among the mail sacks. William P. Allen relieved him in 1861 and gave way to Wilson R. Herron in 1868. Edward Bilyea followed then Mr. Herron again, Frank L. Henn about 1893. Clayton H. Underhill about 1897, Frank C. Densmore from 1905 til now. This office has two free delivery routes, which supply the greater part of the town, a small part of Illinois and a smaller part of Rock county. Harry H. Bidwell, first railway station agent, died December 13, 1859. Dr. Reuben Willson was the earliest resident physician.

About 1848 a school house was built within the later village limits. Additional provision was made as needed, and house and grounds are now valued at twenty-five thousand dollars. The high school began in 1878, with W.A.Germain as principal. Rev. James G. Schaeter had moved the men of Sharon, in 1866, to active interest in advanced education. In 1867 the Sharon Academy was built and was opened in December with nearly one hundred pupils, under direction of Mr. Schaefer and Prof. E.S. Chadwick, of Beloit. This school closed in 1878, after an active and useful career, and the high school soon resumed this temporarily suspended work. The public school house was burned in 1880, rebuilt in 1884 and extended about 1908. Its total value, with broad grounds, is about twenty-five thousand dollars. Nine teachers are now employed.

In connection with his academical work Mr. Schaefer began in June, 1868, to publish the Sharon Mirror. At the end of 1869 he sold it to C.C. Hanford, from whom it passed in January, 1871, to Samuel P. Ballard. It was discontinued in September following. Before the end of that year George F. Brigham, a man in many ways useful to his fellow citizens, began to edit and print the Gazette, which he discontinued in September, 1873. In that month J.C. Keeney began anew with the Inquirer. He was a native of Connecticut and a thorough printer. Most of his work was done by himself and a young son, Clarence. In September, 1876, Clarence R. Conable bought the office and in 1878 moved it to Delavan. After three weeks interval, in August, 1878, James H. Phelps and George F. Ziegaus put forth the Reporter. In 1890 the firm was Phelps & Howell in 1892 George F. Ziegaus in 1906 Ziegaus & Son in 1908 Fred C. Fessenden and is now the Reporter Publishing Company. This paper is independent politically. Its predecessors were generally Republican.

Very Rev. Martin Kundig established St. Catherine's mission in 1846. Its services were supplied for more than sixty years by priest of other parishes-- notably for twenty years or more from the church at Elkhorn. A chapel was built in 1896, and a church in 1910. Father Hermes came as resident priest, for a few weeks, in 1910, and after him Rev. Thomas Pierce in 1911.

Nineteen members constituted the Congregational society in 1868, and a church was built in that year. Rev. James G. Schaefer, with a few others of the Lutheran church, were among the organizers of this society. The pastors, as nearly as known, have been Isaac Barker, 1870 Albert A. Young, 1871 Albert M. Case, 1875 Thomas A. Wadsworth, 1878 Luther Clapp, 1879 John Mitchell Strong, 1882 John Harris, 1884 Arthur McCalla Thome, 1885 John Scholfield, 1887 John Sabin, 1890 Daniel R. Grover, 1891 William Millard, 1893 Frederick M. Hubbell, 1895 Carl D. Thompson, 1896 Thomas Kent, 1900 Robert J. Locke, 1902 H. Samuel Fritseh, 1904. The society became too weak in number to continue long after 1904, and in 1911 their building was sold for conversion to other use.

Rev. George F. Brigham, then a layman, assembled a little group of Episcopalians and acted as their reader. The first full service was in 1868 by Rev. William E. Wright, then of Janesville. Before building their chapel, in 1879-80, the members met at a dance hall, at the railway station,--- at which Mr. Brigham was for many years agent,-- and at the Lutheran church. Mr. Brigham received deacon's orders June 11, 1876, and May 27, 1902, he was fully ordained as a priest, and is still in the service of the church, though full of years. From the beginning he has kept a minute account of parish affairs, and his well-stored memory preserves some un-written record of many other things that might otherwise be lost to such as find interest in the men and events of nearly a half century. He was born in 1830, and might be regarded fairly as Sharon's “grand old man.”

A number of residents of the town met at Martin Van Alstyne's house, September 27, 1845, to organize the First Evangelic Lutheran church of Sharon. Its name was chosen, its synodical connection fixed upon, and officer elected. Its first yearly meeting was held at the same place, September 28, 1846, Rev. Marcus W. Empie presiding. He read his commission from the Lutheran board of missions of the Franekean synod, and was received as pastor. At a special meeting, October 9, 1849, ti was resolved to build a chapel which should be opened freely for the use of other orthodox denominations. It was further determined to accept Mr. Van Alstyne's gift of two acres of land and to build thereon at the line between sections 34 and 35, about eighty-five rods from the state line and a little more than one and one-half miles from the present village. The chapel was ready for its use in 1850. Between 1856 and 1861 it was moved to the village and remodeled., and has since been kept in excellent repair. Before 1866 its service was not continuous. Its pastors have been Mr. Empie, 1845-1852 Rufus Smith Jr., 1856-1861 Henry L. Cox, 1863. Continuity began with James G. Schaefer, 1866 Leander Ford, 1868 Mr. Hammond, 1875 Dr. David Harold Snowden, 1878 Jacob W. Thomas, 1881 J.H. Weber, 1887 I.J. Delo, 1889 Luther L. Lipe, 1801 Leander Ford(again). William J. Sprie, 1902 Thomas B. Hersch, 1904 William F. Barentt, 1906-1912. This is an English-speaking congregation.

A German-speaking Evangelic Lutheran society was formed about 1807, and its church was built in 1903. Its pastor list and dates of service are but partly known H.R. Roehr, Mr. Schert F. Kuehnert, Thomas B. Hersch, 1905 Herman A. Steege, 1906 George F. Hack, 1907 Theodore Bergen, now in charge. Each of these churches has its comfortable parsonage.

A Methodist Episcopal society was constituted in 1843 at South Grove and was for some time supplied by circuit riders. In 1856 it built a church at Sharon village and has since improved it and provided a good parsonage. Its clergy list begins with Hiram H. Hersey about 1856, after whom Thomas White, 1857 Stephen Smith, 1860 Andrew J. Mead, 1861 William Page Stowe, 1863 Daniel C. Adams, 1865 A.C. Manwell, 1866 Clark Skinner, 1868 William H. Sampson, 1869 Norvall J.Aplin, 1871 J.C. Robbins, 1873 Daniel Brown, 1874 A.J. Brill, 1875 A.A. Reed, 1877 Sameul C. Thomas, 1879 Samuel Reynolds, 1880 Charles B. Wilcox, 1881 Andrew J. Benjamin, 1883 Joseph Anderson, 1884 Frank A. Pease, 1885 Stephen A. Olin, 1888 Payson W. Peterson, 1891 William A. Peterson, 1893 Elvardo C. Potter, 1896 Sabin Halsey, 1898 William Clark, 1899 J. Thomas Murrish, 1902 Andrew Porter, 1903 Georger W. White, 1906-12. It may be seen that a few of these performed duty at Allen Grove.

Joseph M. Yates and Howland Fish began business as private bankers in1874, with capital of ten thousand dollars. A few years later Mr. Fish gave place to George C. Mansfield, and yet later Mr. Yates and Mr. Mansfield became respectively president and cashier of the Sharon State Bank, and are still in these positions. This bank's capital has become twenty-five thousand dollars and its deposits are nearly three hundred thousand dollars. A steam grist mill was built in 1875 by James Ashley, with the help of liberally subscribing citizens. It was large enough for local needs, having four runs of mill stones. John Ladd bought a half interest in 1879, the other half interest owned since 1878 by Mrs. Mary A. Slocum. This mill has long been disused.

The village found good water for public and private use at depth of six hundred and ten feet. Since 1905, the streets, stores, and homes have been lighted from gasoline works. Cement with sand and gravel is in general use for public walks, as in all the cities and villages of the county.

The first cemetery is now well within the village, and has long been disused and is mostly vacated. A wild growth of tree, shrub, vine and weed now makes it difficult to explore their tangled thickets in quest of the few old headstones still remaining. Apparently, a quarter century is sufficient for nature to hide before she wholly erases the signs of human effort to care becomingly for the dead. A newer and well designed and cared-for cemetery lies on high ground, a mile northward. The liberality of citizens, singly and in societies, has provided a cemented walk, four feet in width, for whole distance. In this work the women of the church societies took the lead and bore the greater share of its cost. This ground has at least one distinctive feature, in that it is unshaded by tree, shrub, or flower. Nothing but its monuments obstructs the lawn-mower and sickle of the care-takers. This last home is now well peopled, and there one may read the names of many of the fathers and mothers who left the eastern world to plant in fairest wastes till then unplowed.

Young men of the town or village have gone forth to find larger usefulness elsewhere. Among these was Capt. John T. Fish, who began a lawyer's practice at the village and ended it in the higher ranks of his profession at Chicago. His son, Frank M. Fish, a native of the village, went to Racine and became judge of this circuit. John Goodland is at Appleton and is judge of the seventh circuit. Scott Ladd, a son of John and Sarah Ladd, is a judge of the supreme court of Iowa. (Another judge of that court is or was Charles Bishop, son of Matthew P. Bishop, of Lagrange).

By a statute of 1883 the village became, in 1892 entitled to its own representative in the county board of supervisors. Under a later general statute Sharon became one of the four incorporated villages of the county.

Members of county board: John W. Brownson, 1892-6 John G. Skeels, 1897 Samuel P. Ballard, 1898-1900, 1902-1906, 1908 Jonas B. Wise, 1901, 1907, 1912 Wesley C. Lilley, 1909-11.

Presidents of the village Dr. David Gardiner Morris, 1900 Heman Allen, 1901 Andrew A. Lyman, 1902 C.Fred W. Ruehlman, 1903-6, 1909-10 John Byrne, 1907 John L. Morgan, 1908, 1911 Wesley C. Lilley, 1912.

Village clerks: William H. Pellington, 1900 Edward H. Perring, 1901 William S. Hamlin, 1902-6, 1908-10 Daniel C. Ward, 1907 G. Augustus Finn, 1911-12.

Village treasures: Andrew Gallup, 1900 Christian Sund, 1901 Jacob Newman, 1902-1905-6 Charles H. Burton, 1903 Charles W. Searles, 1904 William J. Markell, 1907 Fred L. Ryder, 1908 James Welch, 1909 DeForest Hyde, 1910-12.

Principals of the high school: W.A. Germain, 1878 James Ellis, 1880 John G. Skeels, 1882 L.S.Smith, 1885 John G. Skeels, 1886 G.W. Bliss, 1893 John G. Skeels, 1895 G.M. Sheldon, 1897 E.T. Towne, 1899 W.B. Collins, 1901 J.H. Stauff, 1903 B.D. Richardson, 1907-13.

VILLAGE OF SPRINGFIELD.
transcribed by Susan Geist

The highway from Lake Geneva to East Troy, by way of the village of Spring Prairie, is crossed by the railway 2.8 miles west of Lyons, on the south side of section 7. This road was for many years, before and after a station was made there, an important mail route, and hence a convenient point for retail trade, grain and wool buying, and lumber-selling. In the mid-seventies considerable shipments of dressed poultry were made, largely to Boston buyers. Changes in the industries of the county, with consequent effects on the business of villages, have checked the growth of Springfield, though it is not yet a wholly deserted village. A fire in 1910 destroyed the station building. After more than a year of delay it was rebuilt better than before, and this with a long line of wide cement platform shows that Springfield is yet of some importance to the railway company. Amid the discontinuance of small postoffices the office at this place remains as one of the fourth class, indispensable for local and northern service. That part of the road between the station and Lake Geneva, about three and one-half miles, is a stage and mail route on which three trips are made daily, from the lake. For many years Ansel Knowles (died August 19, 1875), of Lake Geneva, made these trips through sunshine, rain and snow, and became well and favorably known to thousands of passengers.

The village was platted by Henry T. Fuller in 1855. There was once a prosperous cheese factory there, a hotel, and an Episcopal chapel, the service of which was supplied in turn by the clerical and lay professors from DeKoven Hall, Racine College. Among the more easily recalled active business men were Edwin Booth, Edwin Moorhouse, and Asa W. Phelps.

Among the few events which disturbed or enlivened the quiet routine of Lyonese life were two which may warrant a few words here. But it should be understood that there were and are somewhat varying versions of both these affairs, namely, the Neiheisel war and the Robins bridge case. Balthazar and Barbara Neiheisel (both born in 1820) came from Germany to section 25, and by 1860 had eight children. The father learned English but imperfectly, and his mind had become somewhat unsettled. A traveling agent had gone that way, about 1859, and would not see that neither himself nor his goods were welcome there. A quarrel arose, incoherent except for some pulling, pushing, and striking, and the agent complained to Jesse Taylor, justice of the peace. A warrant for Neiheisel’s arrest was given to Sumner Chapin, who called Ebenezer Dayton, Rathbone R. Fellows, and Ralph Taylor to help him, and moved in pursuit of his plain duty. Mr. Neiheisel, who seems to have understood little or nothing of the object of this invasion, resisted to the extent of firing on the party and wounding Mr. Fellows. The arrest was made, an examination held, and the poor man was lodged not in the jail but in the crazy wing of the county house. Rumor carried all this, enlarged and embellished, to other towns, and for years thereafter the Neiheisel war was a topic on which men might be as witty as they could, at the expense of the town, its local court, and its constabulary force. The state afterward voted a sum of money to compensate Mr. Fellows for his injury in faithful service. Two of the old man’s sons, Moritz and Peter Neiheisel, enlisted in the reorganized First Infantry, one of the most serviceable regiments of the Civil War. Moritz served three years and Peter until he was discharged for disability—a record for the family worth remembering at Lyons and elsewhere.

In 1873 the circuit court at its February term, after a trial by jury, entered a judgment in favor of Henry Robins against the town of Lyons for one thousand two hundred dollars damages and one hundred dollars and seventy-two cents costs. Mr. Robins had been hurt by or at a defective bridge or culvert, and his cause was taken into court by Capt. John A. Smith, of Lake Geneva, and Ithamar C. Sloan, of Janesville, with Dr. Benoni O. Reynolds as medico-surgical witness. Horatio S. Winsor, of Elkhorn, appeared for the town. The result affected the town’s vote at assembly district elections for several years afterward, for Smith and Reynolds were then leaders in district politics. The case seems to have been one in which law was on one side and equity on the other. The men of Lyons, at least, thought the injury was much overpaid by the sum awarded the sufferer. The town builds and maintains many bridges, now all of steel, and a similar court-cause is not likely to occur again.

There are nine school districts, of which one is a joint district with Bloomfield, one with Geneva, and one with Geneva and Spring Prairie. The school at Lyons village has two departments.

The town received its mail from the offices at Lyons and Springfield, and by two rural routes from the first-named office.

The county clerk’s statistics for 1910 show that there were 22,619 acres of land in the town. (About five acres of section 31 is included within the corporate limits of Lake Geneva, and thus subtracted from Lyons.) True value of land $1,514,200 or $66.95 per acre. The crop-acreage, as returned was: Barley, 180: corn, 3,062: hay, 2,757: oats, 3056: orchard, 104: potatoes, 99: rye 99: timber, 1,746: wheat, 172. Number and value of live stock: 3,049 cattle, $70,300: 602 hogs, $6,500: 607 horses, $52,300: 1,488 sheep, $1,500. Seven automobiles were valued at $1,600.

The several federal censuses have shown the population: 1850, 1,189 1860, 1,338 1870, 1,312 1880, 1,312 1890, 1,328 1900, 1,298 1910, 1,261.

It is rarely that two successive censuses give exactly the same figures, as in 1870 and in 1880. It is quite possible that some small percentage of error affects all enumerations of population, and many another statistic statement besides. The villages were not enumerated separately from the town, but Springfield has about one-half as many inhabitants as Lyons, with less present tendency to increase.

Rev. Benedict J. Smeddinck (1820-1881), then of the parish of St. Francis de Sales, Lake Geneva, came in 1868 to organize twelve families of Lyons as the congregation of St. Joseph, and began at once to build its church. This was a frame building, thirty-two by forty-eight feet, floor dimensions, at an outlay of one thousand seven hundred dollars and a parsonage, ten by twenty-four feet, was built beside it. Father Smeddinck, a builder of churches, divided his time for four years between the parishes of Lake Geneva and Lyons. For twelve years from 1872 service was supplied at Lyons by priests at New Muenster (St. Alphonsus), at Lake Geneva, and by Capuchin fathers at Milwaukee. Among those from St. Alphonsus were that well tried soldier of the Cross, Rev. Franz Xavier Pfaller (1831-1892), and Rev. Leonard Blum. Rev. August Gardthaus was resident priest from 1884 to 1888, after whom came Rev. Charles Drees, under whose direction a school house was built at cost of seven hundred dollars. Rev. William Lette came in 1890, staying two years. After a short vacancy service was resumed by Rev. Cyrus Kufner, who came from Milwaukee on alternate Sundays, beginning in March, 1873. Rev. John Diebold, an eminent scholar and author, became resident priest from 1894. In his pastorate a new parsonage was built at cost of one thousand two hundred dollars. Rev. Henry John Korfhage served at the altar from 1898 to 1902.

Rev. Frederick J. Hillenbrand was sent here from Kenosha in July, 1903, and the next year a new school house, its cost three thousand dollars, replaced the old one. Under direction of two Sisters of the Order of St. Francis, forty pupils are taught in all the study courses of the eight grades of public schools and instruction in the German language is given to such as wish it. In 1910 a wholly new church was built at expense of twelve thousand five hundred dollars and furnished at nearly one thousand dollars. The parish now has about fifty families, among which are some of the most substantial of the township.

In 1856 a mission was established in section 34, a nearly five-mile ride due southward from the village, and was named St. Kilian’s. Its service was for long supplied by Rev. Carl Josef Franz Schraudenbach and others of New Muenster, occasionally by priests of Lake Geneva, and for the last quarter-century by those of Lyons. The parish has about twenty families of Lyons and Bloomfield. Father Hillenbrand, a well-trained and true servant of the church, goes to the little chapel in the fields every Sunday, let the weather be what it may.

The Methodist Episcopal society of Lyons was organized early and a church was built at the village in 1857. The names of the earlier clergy are not clearly shown, but those of Joseph C. Parks, Aurora Callender, and Joseph M. Walker, without dates, are followed, with occasional vacancies or uncertainties, by those of John H. Hazeltine, 1858-9 John Edwin Grant, 1861-2 W. Carver, 1863 G. A. Smith, 1864-5 William Sturges, 1866-7 William Averill, 1868 S. M. Merrill, 1869 Andrew J. Mead, 1871 Joseph Hayden Jenne, 1872 Gideon W. Burtch, 1873 Samuel C. Thomas, 1874-6 Rossiter C. Parsons, 187--- Alonzo Mansfield Bullock, 1880 John Howard Brooks, 1881-2 Wilson J. Fisher, 1883-5 George W. White, 1886-7 I. M. Wolverton, 1888-9 William R. Mellott, 1890-1 Robert Davidson, 1892 Mark A. Drew, 1895-7 Orlando P. Christian, 1898 John J. Lugg, 1899-1900 Edgar J. Symons, 1901-3 George Kenneth McInis, 1905-7 Jeremiah H. Hicks, 1808 David N. Phillips, 1909 Forest H. Woodside, 1910.

POSTMASTERS.

Postmasters at the old village of Lyons were Thomas Lyon, Dr. John Stacy, William Fletcher Lyon, Lathrop Bullen, Seth P. Hall. After 1856 were Ebenezer Nicodemus White, Hamilton D. Brown, Wesley John Campbell, Giles G. Reeve, Peter Strassen, Jr., 1885, Horace Cole 1889, Andrew P. Prasch 1893, Joseph A. Strassen 1896, Dwight H. Cole 1897, Thomas H. Wilcox 1902, Joseph A. Strassen 1909. From 1893 to her death in 1896 Cecile Aurelia Cole, daughter of Horace and Aurelia Celestine (Pendleton) Cole, performed the work of the office.

At Springfield the postmasters recalled were Edwin Booth, Ethan B. Farnum, Edward Moorhouse, Asa K. Phelps, Harry C. Olp, John Abbott.

Mr. Lyon became chief justice of the Wisconsin supreme court. Mr. Burdick was later of Linn, and Mr. Houghton of Elkhorn. The Campbells were father and son. Mr. Fowlston was a soldier of the war for Cuba Libre, 1898.

TOWN OF SPRING PRAIRIE.
Source: History of Walworth County, Wisconsin, by Albert Clayton Beckwith, Illustrated, Chapter 34 Volume 1 (1912) Transcribed by Tammy Clark

At the division of the county into five towns, January 2, 1838, the two townships, each numbered 3 north, lying in ranges 17 and 18 east, were included in the town of Spring Prairie, and were so joined until March 21, 1843, when the westernmost town was set off as Lafayette. The name was suggested to Mrs. Abigail A. (Whitmore) Heminway by the natural features of the southern half of the town — the springs being in sections 19 and 20 and discharging themselves into Spring brook, a branch of Sugar creek. Rochester and Burlington lie eastward.

First settlers found about three-fourths of the township more or less wooded—forests and openings. Spring prairie, in the southwestern part, and Gardner’s prairie, in the southeastern quarter, have each from fifteen hundred to two thousand acres of natural garden. A smaller meadow, a half section or more in area, lies near Honey Creek, in the northeast. Sugar creek enters at section 7, crosses a little south of east and meets Honey creek near the county line at the southeast corner of section 13. The latter comes out of East Troy and runs nearly due southward through sections 1, 12 and 13. Spring brook, entering at section 19, meets Sugar creek near the town center. Marsh creek begins in section 10, and by way of section 11 reaches Honey creek in section 12. White river winds a few miles in section 36 and escapes into Racine county by way of the southeast corner of section 25. The southern sections are drained by small southward-flowing branches of the White. These larger streams were in earlier days made useful for driving saw-mills and grist-mills. For a few miles along Sugar creek, on each side, the ground rises to parallel ridges which give the highway from Spring Prairie village to East Troy almost a down-eastern ruggedness of profile Limestone crops out in some of the valleys, more noticeably in sections 16 and 36, though quarries have been worked but superficially and for local use. This is presumptively of the Niagara formation. Elevations above sea-level, at ten points of observation, vary between 766 and 979 feet—the lowest in sections 36. the highest in section 5. The average height in sections 7 and 8 is 918 feet.

In 1910 the land area was returned as 23,007 acres, valued at $1,754,900, or $76.27 per acre. Since the entire acreage of a township, land and water included, is 23,040 acres, it may be judged that the streams and ponds are now at their lowest, or, that there is a slight clerical or printers error in the returns. Crop acreages were: Barley, 795: corn. 3,803 hay, 3,177 oats, 2,407 potatoes, 126 rye, 168 timber, 3,177 wheat, 270. There were 3,459 cattle, valued at $92,900 886 hogs. $10,300 905 horses, $63,400 3,783 sheep, $12,900.

Population: 1850, 1,418 1860, 1,311 1870, 1,209 1880, 1,107 1890, 1,155 1900, 1,120 1910, 1,007. The difference between the first and the latest of these enumerations tells again the story of other towns, a tale in two parts—the one of busy mills and of small local shops supporting a few mechanics at once hopeful village sites, and of sons who stayed at home to help the fathers on the farms: the other of the re-distribution of local trade by the coming of railways, of farms worked by machinery, and of the attraction of great cities and of the farther west.

Palmer Gardner came April 15, 1836, to section 25, and two days later began to build. In May he planted and sowed, and in autumn gathered. Solomon Harvey, Dr. Ansel A. Heminway and David Pratt came in that year to section 30. In May, too, William J. Bentley and Isaac Chase came to sections 28, 29, and Daniel Salisbury to section 29. Frederick T. Hunt came to work for Mr. Gardner. Gilman Haines Hoyt reached section 1 in July, and with him came Reuben Clark. Rufus Billings came in October to section 23, Benjamin and Benj. C. Pearce to section 36.

Of the men of 1837 were Chester Baker and sons, Edwin, Francis, section 10, and Purke, George and John Hell, 23 Jabesh T. Clement, millwright Horace Coleman, 29, 30 William Darwin Grain, 27 Isaiah Dike, 27, 34 William H. Dunning, 34 John Egerton Hopkins, 1 Benjamin Hoyt, 1 Avery Hoyt, 2 James McNay, 12 Roderick Merrick, 20, 29 Ansel Salisbury, 34 Perrin Smith and wife Abigail. 28, 33 Oliver Van Valin, Samuel C. Vaughn, 20, Mr. Hopkins married Joanna, daughter of Benjamin Hoyt and sister of Avery A. and William H. Hoyt.

Men of 1838 were Harry Ambler, 4 John Bacon, 28 John Camp Booth, 26 Richard Chenery, 26 Corbin Clark, 8 Josiah Burroughs Gleason, 34 Samuel P. Jones, 31 Josiah P. Langmaid, 12 John Martin, 24 Thomas W. Miller, 29, 32 Abel Neff, 25, 34 George Henry Palmer, 12 Josiah O. Puffer, 27 Louis Schmidter, 4 Erastus O. Vaughn, 11 Jeremiah Walker, 17 Daniel Whitmore, 17 Dwight Whitmore, 27 Israel Williams, 19.

Men of 1839: Dr. Daniel Allen, 6 George W. Arms, 26 James Baker, 5 Marcus Reynolds Britten, 15 Samuel Brittain, 11 Kimball Easterbrook, 22 George Hatter, 4 Thomas Hill, 31 John Mather, 5 Samuel Neff, 35 Alexander Porter, 5, 8 Silas Salisbury, 34 Selah Whitman, 1.

In 1840: Zebulon Bugbee, John Densmore, 18 Louis Kearns, 18 Jonathan Leach, 31 Rev. Orra Martin, 23 James Mather, 5, 8.

In 1841: William Berry and son Mellen, 12 Charles Bowman, 6 Lansing D. Lewis, 15 Franklin J. Patton. 22 Benjamin L. Reed, 22.

Besides these, the dates of whose coming are fixed, the following named men bought land of the government: Harvey Bacon in section 33 Luke Billings, 23 Robert Brierly, 8 Arthur Brown, 19 Tyler M. Coles, 17 Joseph Dame, 21 Elijah Delap, 34 John Flitcroft, 5 Benjamin Haight, 11, 12 James Harkness, 18 George Healey, 4 Abiram Holbrook, 2 Benjamin Jones, George Kaiser, 7 George Kneeland, 17 William Lay, 21 Francis McKennan, 36 Austin L. Merrick, 21 James Monahan, 10 Jonathan Neff, 35 Benjamin Pearce, 6 Benj. Carpenter Pearce, 36 Lemuel Rugg, 33 William Maxwell Sherrard, 30, 31 Lemuel Rood Smith, 25 John Sweeney, 7 Amory Townshend, 2 William Brice Wade, 12 Bernhardt Weigert, 3 Joseph D. Whiteley, 4, 9 Joseph Whitmore, 18.

Dr. Daniel Allen (1787-1859) came from Hamburg, New York, with his wife, Olive English (1782-1864), to section 31, East Troy, in 1838, and to the next town. His son, Lucius, became a man of county affairs, and a daughter, Lucinda, was married first to John Mayhew and second to John Young.

John Bacon (1785-1865) was born at Kinderhook and came here from Angelica. New York. His wife was Sarah Perry.

Robert Brierley died in 1864. Marcus R. Britten (1815-1890) was born at Amsterdam. New York. His wife was Caroline Klock (1815-1898). He was a Baptist deacon and opposed Freemasonry.

Samuel Brittain (1810-1890) was born in Lincolnshire and came to the States in 1834. In 1836 he was at Geneva and took a two-handed part in the battle with Payne's man, Schoonover. His wife was Elizabeth (1814-1893), daughter of Benjamin Hoyt and Susan Hayes.

Reuben Clark married Maria Van Valin. September 3, 1837. She was a daughter of Daniel Van Valin.

Isaiah Hike (1802-1882) came from Vermont. His wife was Mary (1803-1894) daughter of Samuel Vaughn and Ruth Bowker.

Benjamin Haight died in 1866. His first wife was Alma Beach. Genealogists find Haight and Hoyt descended from the same remote ancestors, but there was no known kinship between Mr. Haight and the Hoyts at Honey Creek.

James Harkness (1776-1861) had wife Mary (1783-1851), daughter of Joseph Whitmore and Hannah Call.

George Healey (1810-1884) had wife Hannah (1808-1885). Both were of English birth.

Dr. Ansel Asa Heminway (1805-1895) was born in Erie county, Pennsylvania, and died at Eugene City, Oregon. He had studied medicine, and his service was early and for long in local demand. He was postmaster 1838-1845. His wife, Abigail A. (1814-1906), was a daughter of Joseph and Hannah Whitmore.

John F. Hopkins died in 1867. His wife was Joanna (1813-1899), daughter of Benjamin and Susan Hoyt.

Benjamin Hoyt (1778-1860) was son of Joseph Hoyt and Abigail, daughter of Samuel and Mary Flanders. Older father ancestors were 1, John 2, Thomas 3. Benjamin 4, Enoch. In 1807 he married Susan Hayes, who died in 1862, leaving seven children. Of these, not before named here. Simon Batchelder Hoyt (1811-1861) married Elizabeth D. Cady, at Honey Creek. Benjamin Hoyt, Jr. (born 1829), married, first, Sarah Robinson: second, Alvira Kelley. The elder Hoyt was born in Deerfield, New Hampshire: his children were born at Cabot, Vermont. From their third American ancestors. Benjamin Hoyt and Hannah Pillsburg, were also descended the Hoyt of Allen Grove.

Gilman H. Hoyt (born 1808) married Elizabeth Heath in 1839. Their son, Clinton D. Hoyt (born 1842), was a sergeant of Company C. Twenty-third Infantry.

Avery A. Hoyt (1824-1906) married, in 1847. Caroline M. Hoyt (1828-1897), his cousin Tristram C. Hoyt's daughter. Her grandfather was Enoch, son of Joseph and Abigail, Mr. Hoyt was one of the farmers whose intelligence and enterprise made of Spring Prairie a segment of the garden of Eden.

Samuel P. Jenks (1809-1889), a native of Onondaga county, married Pamela (1808-1892), daughter of Dan Phelps and Elizabeth, daughter of Israel King and Elizabeth Johnson.

George L. Kaiser (1810-90) was horn in Bavaria came to the States in 1827 married, in 1830, Margaret (1810-1897), daughter of John A. Taubert (or Taupert). She, too, was a Bavarian.

Thomas W. Miller (1788-1863) and wife Mary (1788-1855) were parents of Mrs. Samuel Pratt.

George Henry Palmer (1804-1873) married Sarah Langmaid.

Alexander Porter (1803-1866) was born in Galloway (an old provincial name for the counties of Kirkcudbright and Wigton, in southwestern Scotland). His wife Isabella (1813-1886) was a native of county Roscommon, Ireland.

David Pratt (1803-1877) was born in Massachusetts and died at Clayton, Iowa. Samuel Pratt was his brother and a sister of Solomon Harvey was his wife.

Josiah Osgood Puffer (1814-1895) was born in western Massachusetts. He was son of Samuel Puffer, second husband of Eunice, daughter of Capt. Josiah Osgood and Jane Byington. Her earlier ancestors were 1, John 2, Stephen 3, Hooker 4, David. Eunice's first husband, Samuel Osgood, was her second cousin. Mr. Puffer's first wife was Hannah M. Whitmore (died 1862) his second wife was her sister, Mrs. Mary Hatch, who died in 1897.

Louis Schmidter (1811-1881) is sometimes written in records "Smithers." His wife was named Amelia.

Erastus Otis Vaughn (1808-1880) was not related in known degree to the others of his name at Spring Prairie. His wife (born 1819, married 1837) was Olive, daughter of Benjamin and Susan Hoyt.

Samuel Cole Vaughn (1802-1868) was a son of Samuel Vaughn and Ruth Bowker, the latter a daughter of Luke Bowker and Joanna Dunbar. His wife was Sarah Hart Mills Vose, daughter of Thomas Vickery Vose and Sarah Little, granddaughter of Samuel Vose and Phoebe Vickery, great-granddaughter of Robert and Abigail Vose. Mrs. Vaughn's mother was daughter of Joseph Little and Hannah Ingalls.

Daniel Whitmore (1817-1909), son of Joseph Whitmore and Hannah Call and grandson of Daniel Whitmore, was born in Essex county, New York. His wife was Mary E. Nobles (1817-1896) Joseph (1821-1898), his brother, married Sarah, daughter of Sims Edgerton and Harriet Benedict.

Rev. Benjamin C. Pearce built a frame house in 1836 and moved into it before the end of the year but, for yet some time to come less pretentious dwellings met the first needs of newcomers. The rapid improvement of water-powers soon relieved a great part of the heavy burdens of building and of subsistence. Israel Williams built a mill forty-five by fifty feet, two- storied, with eighteen-foot overshot wheel and two runs of stones, at the springs in section 19. To this he added a distillery with capacity of about two barrels—a little more than he needed for household consumption. Samuel C. Vaughn built a saw mill in 1843 on Spring brook, at the northeast corner of section 20. John Martin 1 the judge) built a saw mill in 1846 on Sugar creek, which in time became a grist mill.

Village settlement began early and hopefully at Honey Creek in section 1. Spring Prairie in sections 29 and 30. Vienna in section 18, and Voree in the northeastern corner of section 36.

Honey Creek, on the stream so named, lies partly in Racine county, in which part is the Wisconsin Central Railway's station. The village has three stores, a church, and a cemetery. Among remembered pastors of the union church were George H. Hubbard, George E. Moore, and Frederick T. Bohl. The postoffice has two free delivery routes. The school is of two grades, and its district is partly of Rochester.

Vienna, on Sugar creek, was at first called Martinsburg, from the related Martin families who settled near that point. Judge Martin's saw mill gave place to a good grist mill, which in 1853 became the property of Edward Zalm, who improved it greatly and for several years made his flour locally famous. His sons, Cornelius and Victor, continued the business for a few years. The mill was disused and then burned. Winslow Page Storms built the Vienna House in 1848 and used it for many years as a tavern and a store, and as a postoffice. It long ago became a private dwelling for men go to Spring Prairie to buy, to Burlington for prescriptions, and each to his own door or gate for mail. A little burial ground lies a bit more than a half mile southwest of the village, on the way to Spring Prairie and to Burlington. Little more than tradition now remains of Vienna and its past and prospective greatness.

Vorce was the creation of Jesse James Strang, who came in 1844 from Nauvoo and began to build a city and temple. It is not told whether he found the name for his holy city in the Book of Mormon, or whether it was revealed to him in another way. He assembled about three hundred disciples, and small, of whom he was ruler, chief priest, and prophet. He appointed a day and hour, and September 13, 1845. lie found his credentials directly beneath a large tree, on the edge of a high bank of White river, in the form of three gold-colored plates on which bad been scratched mathematical and astronomical symbols. These he interpreted as a revelation and a heavenly commission. Eighteen more plates were found later. Laban Piatt, Aaron Smith, James M. Van Nostrand, Jared B. Whelan and Edward Whitcomb witnessed these revelations. He printed a newspaper, for which he wrote long "poems": but he did not finish his temple. In 1847 he flitted with his disciples to Beaver Island, in Mackinaw strait, and in 1856 his body was brought for burial after a conflict with a federal marshal's force. He had a few relatives in the town of Spring Prairie and this, with the natural advantages of rich land and good water power, may have determined the place of the city so short-lived, of which but a few fading memories are left.

Doctor Heminway built early in 1837, in section 30, at a meeting of half-section lines, one of the largest log taverns in the territory, two stories high. He made it in many ways useful, for he opened it for religious service, for other public meetings, for a store and postoffice, and for a township polling place. This edifice determined the site of Spring Prairie village. In the fall of that year Horace Coleman and J. Crawford placed a stock of goods in a corner of the Heminway House. Samuel Pratt and Erasmus D. Smith built a store in 1844. Doctor Heminway rebuilt his house of brick in 1845. This house was sold in 1847 to William H. Rogers, in 1848 to Nathan A. Howes, in 1854 to Franklin Walbridge, in 1857 to Capt. Ezra F. Weed, its last landlord. It became a stately private dwelling.

Stephen Bull and Thomas Gage built a store across the road eastward and they were followed by a half-forgotten line of successors, each of whom, in his turn, was usually postmaster. The store was extended and a wing added for its hardware department. It was burned in January, 1894, and its business and its higher function passed to a new store at another corner, to which place went the postoffice.

Men of the second and later generations had made of the old hardware wing a smoking room and a kind of academic grove where each person was a "professor of things in general" and a receptive pupil. Their unending debates of all that ever was, is, and yet might be were not all profitless. There was much general and special intelligence, wit, racy humor, and harmless freedom of speech at these convocations. These wordy commotions were in no way enlivened artificially, for no man there could remember when drink that rages was sold at the village. Not a few of these men were called hence to the seats of the mighty at Madison and at Elkhorn, and each of these owed this later greatness to the quickening of faculties and sharpening of wits among the nail-kegs, garden tools, and grindstones. Their fathers had disagreed sturdily in matters of church discipline and town polity, and Otis Preston had observed that no man who did not hate somebody was qualified for citizenship at the village. This was far otherwise with their heirs and successors, and the great unifying influence was the blue haze of the hardware wing. Men gathered at other stores in other villages to hear and discuss news and as it were to strike fire out of dull substances but berries are not alike on every bush. The perpetual session at the store was the peculiar institution of Spring Prairie, unlike that which was most nearly like it.

Franklin postoffice was established in 1838 with weekly mails to Racine and Janesville. The name must have been changed within that year, for Spring Prairie and not Franklin competed with Delavan, Elkhorn and Geneva at the choice of a county seat. As far as known the succession of postmasters with uncertain dates, has been: Ansel Asa Heminway, 1838 Erasmus Darwin Smith, 1845 Frank Hall, Stephen Bull, Moses Kinney, 1857 Graham. Martin V. Pratt. 1861 Clifford A. Pratt, George D. Puffer, William J. Knight, Leroy Williston Merrick, about 1894 William H. Shaver, Mrs. Martha M. Shaver.

Josiah O. Puffer made and sold shoes as early as 1839. Jacob Kohler brought Parisian styles of men's clothing in 1843, and Otis Preston brought still later styles, from White Pigeon, in 1846. Earliest named village smiths were Henry Elliott, 1840 Nathaniel H. Carswell, 1843 Harrison Armstrong, 1845. After these were Orman Livingston, Stephen Coats, Edson Merrill, James A. Hemstead, and in 1865 Henry J. Shaver (1832-1912). In 1846 and until 1848 Mr. Armstrong's skill and Israel Williams's money were joined for the production of serviceable home-made plows and henceforward the village blacksmith was known to the world and to the muses of lyric and satiric verse as "Uncle Hat, the Plowmaker." Between 1850 and 1855 Mr. Lobdell made small beer and found for it a nearly county-wide sale. This business passed for a short time to Brewster B. Drake. About 1874 Cyril R. Aldrich began to buy, dress and ship poultry to Boston and other places. Henry D. Barnes became his partner, and later the firm was made up of Mr. Barnes, Edward C. Hubbard and George D. Puffer. Their shipments reached fifty tons each winter. For a few years either way from 1880 Orris Pratt made vinegar for domestic and foreign consumption.

In May, 1841, steps were taken to organize the Baptist church of Spring Prairie and Burlington. Among the clergy who attended these preliminary meetings were Richard Griffing, Phipps W. Lake. Orra Martin. Benjamin Pearce, Henry Topping and A. B. Winchell. The Burlingtonians withdrew in 1843 to form a society at home. The church at Spring Prairie was built in 1846 by William Johnson and James Harrington and extended as needed Causes not unknown elsewhere and in other denominations have so weakened this once strong society at the village that since r88l few or no pastors have been regularly assigned to its service. Dates of the following pastorates are not definitely known, but their order is nearly as shown: William R. Manning, 1841 Roswell Cheney, 1844 Spencer Carr, 1851 Rice R. Whittier, Cantine Garrison, Jacob Bailey, A. F. Randall, Thomas Bright, Edward L. Harris, A. Latham, John H. Dudley. Levi Parmly, J. C. Jackson, J. H. Estey, Charles William Palmer. James F. Merriam, Franklin Kidder, George M. Daniels, A. Freeman, J. S. Forward, about 1880. There seems to have been occasional supply from the pulpits at Burlington and Elkhorn. Elder Ebenezer Harrington, whom Mr. Dwinnell describes as an earnest, eccentric man, had begun in November, 1839, to prepare the way for this society.

Congregationalists met in 1840, and among them was Mr. Dwinnell. They acted jointly with members at Burlington for two years. Rev. Cyrus Nichols ministered at first to this mission. A society was fully organized February 8, 1852, by Rev. Samuel E. Miner. In i860 the Congregational and Methodist societies built a union church, with seats for about three hundred persons. Its building mechanics were Scott & Nims. This church, too, has been discontinued, in effect, since 1881. Its pastors were Christopher C. Cadwell, 1853: Jedidiah D. Stevens, 1854-5 Avelyn Sedgwick, 1861-2 P. C. Pettibone (from Burlington), 1863 E. D. Keevil, 1864-5 Sidney K. Barteau, 1866, and Charles Morgan.

In 1837 Jesse Halstead and Samuel Pillsbury traveled and preached in a circuit lying in four counties and having eleven infant Methodist societies. These were at Big Foot, Burlington, Caldwell's Prairie, East Troy, Fort Atkinson, Geneva, Hudson, Janesville, Rochester, Spring Prairie and Whitewater. David Worthington preached in 1840. From that date to 1860 little is told. Since the latter date the yearly assignments of pastors have usually been to Lyons and Spring Prairie together. The parsonage is at Lyons. There is a German Methodist church in section 2.

Israel Williams sold one acre in the southwest corner of section 30, in 1842, where Nathaniel Bell laid out and named Hickory Grove cemetery. Its area has been increased and improved, and it is one of the finest rural burial grounds in the county. Its first tenant was the wife of William Baumis.

Juliette, daughter of Col. Perez Merrick, taught school in 1837 and 1838 at the Heminway House. In the spring of 1839 a school house, enclosed with rough oak boards, was built at the corners, and Mary S. Brewster taught there. In the same year Mrs. Coleman (no longer Miss Merrick) taught near Gardner's prairie. There are now six districts in the town, and besides there are two which are joint districts with parts of Racine county and one with part of Lafayette. At the village the house now in use was built in 1864. The partial list of teachers, with nearly correct dates as to the earlier named is:

Leander F. Frisby, 1847-8 William Wilcox, 1848-9 Mr. Paine, 1849-50 Frederick O. Thorp, about 1851 George W. Burchard, 1853-4 Almerin Gillette, 1854-5 Frank Hall, 1855-6: Frank Patten, 1856-7 Benjamin F. Skiff, 1857-8 O. F. Avery, 1858-9 Frank Hall, 1859 to '61 Daniel Pratt, 1865-6 Orren T. Williams, 1866-7 Mary L. Edwards, Amanda Herkimer, Fred W. Isham, Rhoda Locke, May Merrick, Anna M. Greene, Alice Moloney, Patrick McCabe, Florence Shove, Edmund B. Gray, Frank Tyrrell, Harriet Allen, Bell Derthick. Mr. Frisby became attorney-general. Mr. Thorp served as state senator from West Bend. Mr. Burchard has been known in state affairs. Mr. Williams is now a judge of the Milwaukee circuit court. Miss Edwards became Mrs. James G. Kestol, of Whitewater. Miss Greene has since visited all quarters of the globe. Colonel Gray commanded the Twenty-eighth Infantry in the Civil war. Miss Shove practices osteopathy at Chicago. Mr. Isham became county superintendent. Lorenzo D. Harvey, afterward state superintendent, once taught a select school here.

TOWN OF SUGAR CREEK.
Chapter 35, transcribed by Mary Saggio

Township 3 north of range 16 east retained the name of Elkhorn after Lagrange, Richmond, and Whitewater were set off and new-named, and until a new town of Elkhorn was created February 2. 1846. The larger town, after thus losing section 36, was so called from its principal water course, the name of which translates the Pottawattomie compound, Sis-poquet-sepee. From some immemorial time the numerous sugar-maple trees along the valley of the creek had been tapped and the Indians had practiced at least one art of white men's civilization—that of sap-boiling. The creek rises near the west line of the town, in section 19, crosses eastwardly to the southeast corner of section 13, turns nearly northward, and leaves the town by section 12. Holden's lake, Otter lake, Silver, and a few pot-holes make up nearly the rest of the drainage and reservoir system of the town. The ancient valley of the creek is wide, and for many years more or less marshy but most of it is now usefully occupied. As a whole, the town is well drained and contains several of the finest farms of the county. Among the higher points above sea-level, as officially shown, are those in sections 4, 5, 9, 23, respectively 931, 945, 918 and 890 feet.

The only actual settler in 1836 was John Davis, who built a cabin near Silver lake in sections 13, 14, passed the cold winter there, and a year later sold his claim to Asa Blood and went away.

Men of 1837: Daniel F. Bigelow, section 21 James Bigelow, 17, 20 Asa Blood, 11 William Bowman, 9, 15 John Byrd, 6, 7: Milton Charles, 4 Nelson Crosby, 31 Perry G. Harrington, 15, 22 James Holden, 5 George W. Kendall, 10 Jonathan Loomer, 7 Samuel Nelson Loomer, 18 Stephen Loomer, 17 Henry McCart, 8 Caleb Miller, 11 John Rand, 8 Salmon Salisbury, 24 Jeduthun Spooner, 14, 23 Freeborn Welch, 3, 10 Joseph Welch, 11, 14, 23.

Joseph Barker, section 10 John S. Boyd, 11 Lewis Crosby, 31 Julius Edwards, 2. 10 Augustus C. Kinne, 7 Alanson and James Martin, 9, and Charles Rand —, same in 1838 James W. Field, 8 Caleb and William Kendall, 10, in 1839 Henry Adkins, 11 Dr. Harmon Gray, 8 Benjamin Rand, 18 John Fish, William H. Hyatt, Russell Thurber, Samuel H. Tibbetts, n. and Nelson Weaver, 18, in 1840. Other settlers, within the next five years, were James Varnum Holden, 14 George Ketchpaw, 23 Horace B. Kinne, Jesse R. Kinne, 7 John A. Pierce, 9, 16 Jonathan Parks, 23 Wynian Spooner, Jr., 14 James and John Strong, 23 Hiram Taylor, Hulcy Welch, 22.

Other men bought government land: John Adams Baird, Chauncey and Chester Baird, all in section 35 Francis and Joseph Lewis Barker, 4 Curtis Bellows, 35 Harvey Birchard, 17, 20, 36 George W. Blanchard, 10 Asa Blood, Jr., 14 Isaac Burson, 4, 20, 33 William Carr, 2 Azariah Clapp, 4 Adolphus Colburn, 26 William Colton, 23 Nelson Tibbetts Corey, 6 Sheldon Raymond Crosby, 30, 31, 32 Lucien B. Devendorf, 31 John Henry Ellsworth, 22 Isaac Flitcroft, 26 William A. Flitcroft, 28 Henry Foot. 19 William O. Garfield, 26 Charles Nicholas Hagner, 1 Olney Harrington, 32 Francis William Hawley, 25 Edwin Aug. Hollinshead, 34 Hiram Humphrey, 12 Elias Kinne, 7 Martin L. Ladd, 21 James Leach, 23, 24 George Leland, 5 Benjamin McVicker, 28 Ward Mallory, 30 John Martin, 28 Benjamin Minshall, 28 Silas Minshall, 21 William Sullivan Nichols, 5, 8 John Olson, 20 William Parrish, 18 John Saunders, 22 Orlev Shaw, 29 Reuben Smith, 25 Jedidiah Sprague, 34 Alexander M. Sturges, 13 James N. Sturtevant, 29 Jacob Tostenson. 20, 21 Loren Ward, 28 Joseph Webb, 35 Ransom Wells, 29 Jesse Pike West, 12 Jeremiah Wilcox, 12 George Wilson, 13 Charles Wolcott, 23.

John A. Baird's widow died at Trempealeau in 1865, aged seventy-five years.

Joseph Barker (1781-1857) and wife Lucinda had nine children, of whom eight came to Sugar Creek. Joseph Lewis married Phoebe T. Roberts, April 2. 1846. Timothy Putnam (1818-1878) married Elvira Shumway (1827-1886). James B. (1823-1898) married his cousin Almeda (18241901), daughter of Hugh Barker. Francis (1821-1875) married Mrs. Maria Baldwin. Russell married Sophia Baker. Adeline (1811-1892) was wife of Booth B. Davis, of Elkhorn Mary L., wife of Hiram Taylor Diana, second wife of Stephen G. West, Sr., married November 9, 1841.

Daniel F. Bigelow (1815-1895), son of Doctor Daniel, was born in Nova Scotia. He married Amy McCart, a native of Ohio, born 1824, died 1897. James (1819-1899) married Ann Elizabeth Fowler.

Lewis Crosby married Phoebe McConkey December 25, 1844.

John H. Ellsworth died in 1859. Sophronia (1827-1894), his wife, was daughter of Asa Pride and Susan Bates.

James Whipple Field, born at Scituate, Rhode Island, March 22, 1814, and now living, in 1912, at Elkhorn with his son-in-law, George Kinne, in fair health and full of memories, is son of Thomas Field and Thankful Winsor. His older ancestors, reckoned backward, were Thomas, Jeremiah, Thomas, Thomas, and William. He married the half-sisters Angeline and Sarah, daughters of William Adams.

John Fish married, June 28, 1843, Harriet, daughter of Stephen Loomer.

Caleb Kendall married Emily A. Webber, June 19, 1842, and lived in Richmond.

Mr. Kingsley was drowned in Silver lake, 1839. His family came a few days later and returned to their eastern home.

John Martin married May 18, 1840, Eliza Ann, daughter of Ebenezer Chesebrough and Anna Griswold. She was born in 1809, and had entered land in her own name in section 33. Mr. Martin died in 1885.

Silas Minshall died May 16. 1857, leaving widow Rose Ann.

Daniel Nyce was born in August, 1801 died May 29, 1857.

John Alexander Pierce (1817-1887), farmer, mill-owner, and man of many business affairs and very generally prosperous, married, first, Mary Elizabeth (1828-1870), daughter of Deacon William Chambers and Phoebe Gray, of North Geneva. She had five sons. He married, second, Hannah, daughter of Henry and Mary Moorhouse. He was son of John Pierce and Maria A. McFarling.

John Rand (1819-1898), son of Benjamin and Sarah, was born in Nova Scotia. He married, May 2, 1844, Sarah Sophia (1817-1900), daughter of Benjamin and Eunice Loomer.

John Saunders (or Sanders) (1806-188—) married Jane Lean.

Jeduthun Spooner (1799-1867), son of Jeduthun Spooner and Hannah Crowell, of Hardwick, Massachusetts, a printer in Vermont, and an early justice of the peace for Sugar Creek, went in 1853 to Allamakee county, Iowa. A nephew of the same name, also of Sugar Creek, a son of Judge Spooner, married Julia Ann, daughter of Sutherland German and Mary, a sister of Christopher Wiswell.

James Strong (1810-1890), born near the line of Virginia in Pennsylvania, married Lois Parks (1817-1876).

Hiram Taylor (1814-1895) married, in 1838, Mary L., daughter of Joseph and Lucinda Barker.

Samuel Holmes Tibbets (1806-1872), born in Windham county, Vermont, married in Canada, October 2, 1837, Sarah (1810-1878), daughter of Dr. David Pattee. Their three daughters were married: Clarissa to Asa Foster, Sarah Jane to Azel Bird Morris, Hannah Maria to John Henry Lauderdale.

Jacob Tostenson (died 1887) married Margaret Larson (died 1875). Their sons, Tosten and Ole Jacobson, were substantial citizens. Ole was a soldier and became an officer of the Thirteenth Infantry and was a capable and useful man of public and private business. He was born in 1838 at Skien, Norway, and died January 28, 1912.

Nelson Weaver (1804-1868) married Ruby Rand (1812-1903).

Freeborn Welch, Jr., (1804-1884) was son of Mercy Spike (17851857). He married, first, Caroline, daughter of Phineas Brown second, Ann McDonough. For some years he kept the long known Gravel Tavern, at Tibbets Corners. Joseph Welch (1820-1900) married Eliza Havens (1821-1893). Hulcy Welch (1812-1879) had wife Hannah. Josiah (1805-1881) had wife Louisa, and lived for several years in Geneva. These four Welches were brothers, who had lived in Steuben county, New York.

Capt. George Washington Kendall kept a tavern in 1839 at the corners, since known as Tibbets, in section 10. He sold this place in 1843 to Francis Rublee, who passed it by deed to his son, Francis M. Rublee, in 1845. During the latter's ownership his brother, Martindale, began to build of lime and gravel concrete, as is told but before his work was finished the place passed by sheriff's sale in 1853 to John D. Cowles, who completed and occupied the Gravel Tavern. This landmark fronted northward on the territorial road from Milwaukee to Janesville, and on a section-line road leading to Elkhorn. In 1859 Mr. Cowles sold the property to Freeborn Welch, one of the jolliest sons of St. Boniface. When tavern custom wholly ended Mr. Welch made of it his dwelling. His heirs sold the house and ground in 1907 to John and Matthew J. Newman, who pulled down the ancient walls and built a fine dwelling in present century style and added barn, silo, and other out-buildings suitable to a well-managed dairy farm. A few rods eastward along the territorial road Samuel H. Tibbets built a house, about 1842, which for some time served as a wayside inn, and for ten years as a postoffice. Captain Kendall had been postmaster from 1840 to 1842.

In 1889 a newly established postoffice, named Tibbets, received a tri-weekly mail from Whitewater and Elkhorn.

Congregationalists and Wesleyans joined in 1872 to build their union church, next south of the Gravel tavern. In the same year Bethel church, Methodist, was built on land bought of John Cameron, section 12, about seven miles by road from Elkhorn, to which this church has usually been attached for pastoral assignments. A store, brick school house, blacksmith shop, and Mount Pleasant cemetery are at the Kendall corners.

Congregationalists, Methodists, and Presbyterians met as early as 1840 in Christian unity at Captain Kendall's, at their own homes in turn, and at the school house. A society of Presbyterians was formed, but soon became Congregational. This body received its ministrations from those early laborers in newly broken fields: Cyrus Nichols, Stephen Denison Peet, Amnon Gaston, Cyrus E. Rosenkrans, David Pinkerton, Samuel Elbert Miner, and other clergymen from Delavan and Elkhorn. Among Wesleyan and Free Methodist pastors were George Parsons and George L. Shepardson.

A highway parts sections 8 and 9, and where this crosses the territorial road was an early grouping of settlers, with store, postoffice, church, and in later time a cheese factory. All this was long known as Barker's Corners, for the early settlers of that family name. About 1852 the postoffice was new-named Millard and the office at Tibbets was for some years discontinued.

Seven persons met at Barker's Corners to found a Baptist society. These were Rev. Henry Topping, of Delavan, Thankful Ballard, Jonathan, Joseph and Sophia H. Loomer, Electa Mason and Christopher Wiswell. At the next meeting, a few days later, James W. Field and six of the Loomer family joined this movement. Mr. Topping divided his well-filled time with the the new society for two or three years. A. B. Winchell relieved him in 1844 R. Pickett, 1846 Moses Rowley, 1847 Jorin H. Dudley, 1849 Albert Sheldon, 1851, and again in 1873 (and died April 4, 1874) A. E. Green, 1863 to 1868 Nelson Cook, 1869 L. C. Jones, 1873 Mr. Hicks, Mortimer A. Packer, about 1887, and ordained in 1889 (remaining to 1894 and returning in 1907) S. F. Massett, December, 1894 George Jerome Kyle, 1897, and in 1899 Eli Packer, 1898 Nicholas Wakeham, 1901: Anthony Jacobs, 1905 George N. Doody, 1910-12. The first church was built about 1850. In 1892 a better one was built and the old one set aside and backward for Sunday school and other reputable purposes. This society laid out a few rods north, in section 9, on James B. Barker's land, a burial ground which has become a public cemetery.

There are now five school districts in the town of Sugar Creek, formed by rearrangement from nine districts.

The Farmers' Mutual Fire Insurance Company of Sugar Creek was organized in February, 1873, for business in the townships of Darien, Geneva, Lafayette, Lagrange, Richmond, Sugar Creek, Troy and Whitewater. Its officers in 1910 were: James E. Lauderdale, president James Parsons, secretary. At the end of 1910 there were 1,290 policies in force, amounting to $2,566,674. Losses paid in that year, $5,975. Losses paid since organization, $69,126.

The land area of the town is 21,629 acres, valued at $1,605,800. Value per acre, $74.24. Crop acreages for 1910: Barley, 2,223 beans, 12 corn, 3,909 hay, 2,812 oats, 2,422 orchard, 87 potatoes, 234 rye, 153 timber, 2,812 wheat, 17. Live stock: 3,202 cattle, $83,300 1,019 hogs, $10,200 795 horses, $55,700 sheep, $800.


Walworth County - History

Walworth County Historical Society

Heritage Hall
103 East Rockwell Street
Elkhorn, Wisconsin 53121

The building history is an integral part of Elkhorn and Walworth County. The Rohleder family opened the first funeral home there in the later 1940's or early 1950's which was then sold to the Derksen family and finally sold to the Betts family in the 1970's. Although it was a funeral home for more than a half century, it was built as a private residence by John Harris in the mid-19 th century. As a side note, in 1871 John Harris sold a Chicago cheese distribution business to two brothers, John and Fred Kraft.


Historical Societies in Walworth County, Wisconsin

There are 4 Historical Societies in Walworth County, Wisconsin, serving a population of 102,917 people in an area of 556 square miles. There is 1 Historical Society per 25,729 people, and 1 Historical Society per 138 square miles.

In Wisconsin, Walworth County is ranked 33rd of 72 counties in Historical Societies per capita, and 13th of 72 counties in Historical Societies per square mile.


Walworth County, South Dakota

Walworth County is a county located in the state of South Dakota. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 5,438. Its county seat is Selby. The county was created in 1873 and organized in 1883. It is named after Walworth County, Wisconsin.

Etymology - Origin of Walworth County Name

Walworth is named for Walworth County, Wisconsin.

Demographics:

Walworth County History

Walworth County, created in 1852, organized in 1883, was named for Walworth County, Wisconsin by settlers from that area. The first county seat was Scranton, which was later added to and called South LeBeau. The voters decided in November of 1884 that the county seat should be moved to Bangor, the center of the county. The long struggle for the county seat began in the summer of 1900 between Selby and Bangor. This battle continued until early in 1908 when the court gave the seat to Selby.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 744 square miles (1,928 km 2 ), of which, 708 square miles (1,833 km 2 ) of it is land and 36 square miles (94 km 2 ) of it (4.89%) is water.


Walworth County, Wisconsin: Family History & Genealogy, Census, Birth, Marriage, Death Vital Records & More

Surnames Web sites, obituaries, biographies, and other material specific to a surname (221)

Transportation and Industry

  • Building histories of Walworth County (Source: Philadelphia Architects and Buildings Project)
  • Extant Railroad/Railway Structures (Source: Railroad Station Historical Society)
  • Patents Walworth County, Wisconsin (Source: Google Patents)
  • Walworth County N. W. Ayer & Son's American Newspaper Annual, 1880 (Source: HathiTrust Digital Library)
  • Walworth County Bridges (Source: Historic Bridges of the United States)

Vital Records

  • Birth Announcement Index Lake Geneva Public Library
  • U.S. Federal Census Mortality Schedules, 1850-1880 Walworth County, Wisconsin (Source: Explore Ancestry for free) ($)
  • Walworth County Deaths Index (Source: Genealogy Trails History Group)
  • Walworth County Marriages (Source: USGenWeb Archives Marriage Records Project)
  • Walworth County Vital Records (Source: Vital Records Information for the United States)

This page and its subpages contain 463 links.

Linkpendium's goal is to index every genealogy, geneology, :) family history, family tree, surname, vital records, biography, or otherwise genealogically-related site on the Internet. PLEASE HELP! When you find a useful new resource, go to the right Linkpendium page and click on the "Add your favorite Website(s) to this page" link. Thanks from all of us at Linkpendium!

Linkpendium
© Copyright 2021 - All Rights Reserved
Last Updated Wednesday, 14 April 2021, 11:30am Pacific


Watch the video: 2021 Annual State of the County, Walworth County (November 2022).

Video, Sitemap-Video, Sitemap-Videos